1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What kind of ram do I have?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Larrylowtech, Jun 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    I feel I need to add some ram since I only have 256K. Is there an easy way to tell what kind of ram I have in control panel or accessories,system tools?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Gus Goober

    Gus Goober

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    You can go to your computer manufactures web site to find out.

    My example.

    I have a Compaq

    Memory


    * Two 184-pin DDR DIMM

    * Maximum memory size is up to 2GB, 1GB per slot recommended (the PC manufacturer's recommended maximum memory may differ)

    * Supports PC2700/PC2100/PC1600

    * Unbuffered non-ECC
     
  3. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    download Everest Home it is a pc info software
     
  4. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Mine is a custom made, not a brand name
     
  5. Psycheout

    Psycheout

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Look in your manual. It should be under adding memory or anything related to your computer`s RAM.
     
  6. debunkcia

    debunkcia

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    what kind of motherboard do you have?
     
  7. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    I think I have an Intel D845GS1. 2.4ghz
     
  8. junker39

    junker39

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,661
  9. Larrylowtech

    Larrylowtech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    530
    Thanks for the help. The link helped. That's a pretty neat tool.
    It says "DDR SDRAM"; is that what I look for?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - kind
  1. Pentius
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    108
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/374446

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice