1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What memory for sabertooth motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Gulo Luseus, Feb 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,439
    Back in august last year, I bought components for a new build. Due to work and commitments, its taken me this long to put it all together. Seems I made an error on buying memory, so need to get some new.
    The recommended memory chart gives a good list, but stats that higher memory speeds are dependent on the CPU. I have an intel i7-6850K installed, (Broadwell-E), and I think this will limit the available memory speed. but cant find any hard data.

    Any ideas? I am not looking for an actual memory recommendation, but advice on the highest speed i can install that should work. Thanks in advance.

    Motherboard; asus Sabertooth X99
    CPU; i7-6850k.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    74,897
    ASUS Sabertooth X99 Motherboard
    It has 8 DIMM slots and supports a maximum of 64 GB of RAM.
    It uses DDR4-2133 or DDR4-2400 unbuffered non-ECC modules.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,439
    Actually it support up to DDr4-3200 from the mem list, manual and Asus site. My problem is that it appears the CPU throttles on the max memory speed, but I cant find ot if using a higher speed will cause errors or if it will reduce to a lower speed. So still stuck :)
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    74,897
    Capture.JPG


    Capture2.JPG

    This is from its specs from 2 different support sites.

    It may support DDR4-3200 modules, but it's probably in overclocked mode.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,439
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1185448