1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

what panel swiches are needed for a motherboard to work

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mickeymbbc, May 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mickeymbbc

    mickeymbbc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    I found a computer case I want to use for a motherboard I have, but not sure if its missing a panel switch. Can someone tell me if a RESET SW, POWER SW, AND HDD LED enough panel switches to make a motherboard work? Its doesn't look like its missing anything but I am use to seeing more panel switches. I don't see an IDE LED on it, but don't Remember if it matters. If its not going to work I will just throw it away.

    Thanks

    mick
     
  2. trogdo

    trogdo

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Just the power switch is needed, all others are optional.
     
  3. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Power switch is needed, HDD LED is the same as IDE, Reset Switch is not mandatory but is recommended.
     
  4. mickeymbbc

    mickeymbbc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Oh great!! I never knew that. So I have enough then?
     
  5. trogdo

    trogdo

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Definitely, you're good to go.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,724
    If this is a case from a dell, hp, or other big box system, it most likely will not work with a standard atx mb OR if it is a standard case, it will probably not work with a big box mb.

    It would help if you posted all of the parts you intend to use.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148459

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice