1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What PC should I buy?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 87James, Mar 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 87James

87James Thread Starter

Hello everyone I am out of the loop with the latest technology but I'm starting my first work from home job and I need a PC within two weeks with about a $400.00 budget I seen a refurbished on Wal-Mart Refurbished HP 6000 SFF Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Processor, 8GB Memory, 22" LCD Monitor, 2TB Hard Drive and Windows 10 Home for 235 dollars is that good or can I get something better (need 20 inch monitor the least) any suggestions are helpful

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    I've been buying nothing but refurbished PC's since 2011, so I won't discourage you from going that route.

What I will discourage you from doing is buying one which has a very outdated processor(Intel Core 2 Duo) and which has a very small case(Small Form Factor).

You should select one which has an Intel Core i3 or i5 processor and a larger minitower case.

I'm partial to the Dell OptiPlex models and haven't bought an HP model since 2008.

You should be able to find one within your $400.00 budget which comes with Windows 10 Home 64-bit.

The www.newegg.com site is where I buy most of mine.

----------------------------------------------------------------

3. 87James

87James Thread Starter

and which has a very small case(Small Form Factor) do you mean the size of the computer itself why? Because of heat I'd assume?

4. flavallee

First Name:
    Frank
    Unless you have a space issue in your home, you should buy a minitower/tower case, depending on which brand/model PC you select.