1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What RAM?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ecto, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=473&model=1474&modelmenu=1

    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820145034

    Those are URLs to the mobo I've chosen, I had problems making them links, so please copy and paste if needed.. I have all of my parts picked out, but heres a quick run down: Intel duo core 2 E6600 processor, Sapphire Radeon X1950XT GPU, 600W quality PSU, Antec 900 case, And the rest that fits.

    I need some RAM thats compatible with my mobo. I'm looking for 2G, since I will be using my computer for gaming. I had this selected http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820145034

    But I read some reviews of it NOT working with my specific MoBo. This is my first computer, and I really want it to work. Any links to 2G(2*1G) of compatible RAM would be fantastic. Quality is good, I would be willing to spend $250 on it.

    Just found this RAM. Will it work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820231098

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Anyone know?

    The link I have above is 2G RAM. Is it compatible, or should I get something better? (if it isn't good enough).

    I'm just looking for maximum performance and quality.

    thanks
     
  3. idowindows

    idowindows

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    550
    Stop by crucial.com or kingston.com and select your hardware. They will tell you what's compatible with their products. If you think the price is high, write down the part number to either vendor and look it up on eBay or pricewatch.com

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    I just wanted to know if anyone uses DDR2 800 RAM on this mobo, and what kind it is.

    Nobody knows what RAM will for sure work with my mobo?
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    The speed of the ram means nothing, you need to find ram compatible for that board and the best way, I dowindows just told you.www.crucial.com,kingston or corsair.com all have configurators to take out the guesswork.
     
  6. lee85boro

    lee85boro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    DDR2 800 will be fine with this board, i've just made a similar machine using the asus
    P5N32-E SLI, yours and this both support ddr2 800
    anything else ?
     
  7. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=3EEE2C7CA5CA7304

    Thats what crucial recommends. Its in the price range.

    But its not what it says on newegg. On newegg it says that my memory standard is DDR2 800, but this is PC2-5300. Will this work with my board for sure? If so, I should be good to go!

    So will this RAM work with my mobo?
     
  8. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    See your other post, ecto...
     
  9. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
  10. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    I would go with Crucial, they guaranty the fit and I have never found them wrong.
     
  11. idowindows

    idowindows

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    550
    When I have ordered from either Kingston or Crucial, following their recommendations, I've never had any problems....

    Makes life simple....
     
  12. Ecto

    Ecto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Its been recommended by crucial, so it should be the same as if ordering from them, except I won't have to shell out more for shipping if I get it from Newegg.com


    I was just wanting to make sure the RAM is quality, now that I know it will work.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542297

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice