What RAM?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ecto

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
196
http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=473&model=1474&modelmenu=1

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820145034

Those are URLs to the mobo I've chosen, I had problems making them links, so please copy and paste if needed.. I have all of my parts picked out, but heres a quick run down: Intel duo core 2 E6600 processor, Sapphire Radeon X1950XT GPU, 600W quality PSU, Antec 900 case, And the rest that fits.

I need some RAM thats compatible with my mobo. I'm looking for 2G, since I will be using my computer for gaming. I had this selected http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820145034

But I read some reviews of it NOT working with my specific MoBo. This is my first computer, and I really want it to work. Any links to 2G(2*1G) of compatible RAM would be fantastic. Quality is good, I would be willing to spend $250 on it.

Just found this RAM. Will it work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820231098

Thanks!!!
 

Ecto

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
196
Anyone know?

The link I have above is 2G RAM. Is it compatible, or should I get something better? (if it isn't good enough).

I'm just looking for maximum performance and quality.

thanks
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
550
Stop by crucial.com or kingston.com and select your hardware. They will tell you what's compatible with their products. If you think the price is high, write down the part number to either vendor and look it up on eBay or pricewatch.com

Hope that helps.
 

Ecto

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
196
I just wanted to know if anyone uses DDR2 800 RAM on this mobo, and what kind it is.

Nobody knows what RAM will for sure work with my mobo?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
The speed of the ram means nothing, you need to find ram compatible for that board and the best way, I dowindows just told you.www.crucial.com,kingston or corsair.com all have configurators to take out the guesswork.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
129
DDR2 800 will be fine with this board, i've just made a similar machine using the asus
P5N32-E SLI, yours and this both support ddr2 800
anything else ?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
I would go with Crucial, they guaranty the fit and I have never found them wrong.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
550
When I have ordered from either Kingston or Crucial, following their recommendations, I've never had any problems....

Makes life simple....
 

Ecto

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
196
Its been recommended by crucial, so it should be the same as if ordering from them, except I won't have to shell out more for shipping if I get it from Newegg.com


I was just wanting to make sure the RAM is quality, now that I know it will work.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top