1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

what resolution

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by rushton, Dec 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    I use my old desktop to watch netflix on a 42 inch plasma, should I change the video settings on my computer to get a better quality picture and if so to what settings ?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    how is the PC connected to the TV ?
    The TV should have a native resolution for the VGA input - if thats what you are using ?

    what resolution do you currently have on the PC ?
     
  3. rushton

    rushton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    I have it plugged into vga input and I think that you are correct, it looks like the computers video card adjusts to suit the screen,
    I just thought that I could get the same resolution as satellite HD quality
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what is the maximum resolution for the VGA input on the TV - should be listed in the manual - post make and model of the TV
     
  5. Oddba11

    Oddba11 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,928
    First Name:
    Jim
    I agree. TV's with VGA or "PC" input, often have limited supported resolutions. The supported resolutions will be listed in the User Manual. Choose the largest supported resolution, preferably the TV's native resolution (although that isn't always possible).
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029681

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice