1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What Should I Buy to Replace My Laptop?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheProfessor101, Nov 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheProfessor101

TheProfessor101 Thread Starter

Good Evening All,

Right now I'm working with the very patient Kevin on alleviating my laptop of some Malware. Once my Dell Latitude D510 is operational, I'm going to pass along to one of my nephews who's off to college soon.

So, with what should I replace it? Here's some of the basics about me and my computing needs:

I'm an English professor at a community college. I'm tenure-track, meaning I teach at least five classes a semester (with 30 students each). I also sit on six different committees. So, I'm juggling a ton of MS Word documents.

I also have to utilize assorted education-based platforms like Blackboard, Banner, Smart Start, etc. So, I'm online all the time.

I'm not a gamer. But I stream a lot of movies. I'd like to get something as portable as a laptop but is replacing a laptop that replaced a desktop. I also require a large screen and keypad (I'm 6'2 and can grow easily sore from hunching over something that's too small).

Don't forget: I am an educator, so I ain't got a whole lot to spend. If I had the money, I'd not be typing this right now--I'd be at the nearest Apple Store, buying their biggest and coolest. But, drats, I can't afford to do that at this time.

I've had only wonderful experiences on this site, and would very much appreciate any and all suggestions.

Thank you!,
    Brian

2. Oddba11

Oddba11

First Name:
    Jim