1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What To Do When Purchasing A New PC ???

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by christadwani, Dec 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    I just got a new Acer Aspire V3 571 notebook (laptop). What Should I do with it as a start ?
    What should i check to make sure that everything is working ok ?

    Basic Info:
    Product Notebook (Laptop)
    Model Name Acer Aspire V3 571-53216G75Makk
    Product Series Aspire V3
    Processor
    Processor Type Intel Core i5
    Model Number i5-3210M
    Processor Generation 3rd gen
    Number of cores (cores) 2
    Speed ​​(GHz) 2.50
    Maximum speed (GHz) 3.1
    CPU Cache 3 MB L3
    Chipset Mobile Intel HM77 Express
    Memory
    RAM (type) DDR3
    RAM (GB) 6
    RAM Max. upgrade (GB) 8
    RAM - Speed ​​(MHz) 1600
    RAM - Ports (Total) 2
    RAM - Ports (available) 0
    Hard Drive
    Drive type (1) SATA
    Capacity (GB) hard drive (1) 750
    Rotational speed (RPM) hard drive (1) 5400
    Audio & Graphics
    For the audio Optimized Dolby Advanced Audio v4
    Built-in speakers Yes
    Built-in subwoofer No
    Graphics Memory Shared
    Graphics Card Manufacturer (1) Intel
    Graphics Model (1) Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Shared video memory (RAM) (1) 128 MB
    Screen (display)
    Size (inches) 6.15
    Standard HD
    Screen Format 16:9
    Maximum resolution 1366 x 768
    Integrated webcam Yes
    Webcam - resolution images (MP) 1280 x 720
    Webcam - resolution video 720p
    Connections
    LAN cards (type) 10/100/1000
    Wireless Standard 802.11 a / b / g / n
    WiDi No
    TV Out No
    HDMI Yes
    HDMI, supporting 1080p Yes
    HDMI input No
    Thunderbolt No
    Mini Display Port No
    VGA Yes
    DVI No
    USB 2.0 2
    USB 3.0 3
    ESATA No
    Bluetooth Bluetooth 4.0
    Port of Memory Yes
    Supports the following memory cards SD, MMC
    Port SIM (mobile broadband) no
    Interface for audio Headphones, Mic (separate)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you really want to test out - then try out all the functions

    just go through the list of items you have

    can you write a dvd
    can you use the bluetooth
    can you output to HDMI
    etc etc etc - you just have to try everything

    However, you need to create the recovery DVDs - so you can take the machine back to factory settings - if theres a harddrive issue and you cannot use the recovery partition
    also get rid of any trial programs - like a security suite - Norton, Mcafee etc
    also run a program like www.belarc.com and/or
    http://www.piriform.com/speccy so you know all the equipment on the PC - if you need to re-install the drivers - also look on the acer site and download and save any drivers onto a DVD
     
  3. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Done (100% working)
    how can I make sure that all drivers are working correctly ?
    and should I uninstall the 3rd party security systems ? (Norton and McAfee)
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did the acer come with both Norton and Mcafee ?

    use the removal tools


    Mcafee Removal Tool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    yes it did. but what about the drivers ?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    goto device manager and look to see if any yellow ? or ! showing at all
     
  7. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    nothing.
    one last thing, would this PC face the limited connectivity problem ?
     
  8. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    I also found Norton Online Backup Service.
    Should I uninstall that too ?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    dont understand the question
    if you dont plan to use - uninstall all the programs you dont intend to use in the future
     
  10. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    i had the same problem with this pc
    limited connectivity.!!!
     
  11. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    which means that the Acer Aspire V3-571 SUCKS or
    that there is a problem with the router but unfortunately i don't have a cable to check the router settings right now
    but, what can i do ?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is the PC faulty now - your first question was about checking everything out

    if faulty - describe exactly the issue and provide some make and model information - routers/modems etc
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1080070

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice