1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

what to do?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by rez410, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    ok my problem is whenever i get on the internet i cant go to any website b/c whenever i type in the web address and hit enter the "can not be displayed " comes up. and where the web address is that i typed is changed. i.e. www.yahoo.com i hit enter then it changes to http:///020yahoo.com. or something really close to that. i do have spybot and i ran that but it didnt help. i cant do panda b/c i cant get to the page. what should i do?
    thanks
    ross
     
  2. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    SpywareBlaster http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
    AdAware SE http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html
    SpyBot S&D 1.3 http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/

    DL them (they are free), install them, check each for their
    definition updates
    and then run AdAware and Spybot, fixing anything
    they say.

    In SpywareBlaster - Always enable all protection after updates
    SpyBot - After an update run immunize

    Do these and reboot before the next step.

    Then get HiJack This http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html, put
    it in a permanent folder (C:\HJT) , run it , DO NOT fix anything, post the
    log here.
     
  3. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    well on my own pc i cant go to any page on the internet and here at work im not allowed to download anything b/c i work on classified govornment computers. what next?
     
  4. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    You'll need to get those files from a friend on a CD or at least get HJT on a floppy as it is small
     
  5. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    ok so if i get HJT and post my log should i keep my computer on during the whole process so the log does not change?
     
  6. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    That would be best, but not 100% necessary - We can do that once you get the tools.
     
  7. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    ok im guessing this gonna take some time since i have to be at work to be on here. I can download HJT tomorrow from someones pc and run it then post my log tomorrow night.
     
  8. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    10-4 - Need the tools to analyze and fix

    Try to get them all
     
  9. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    do you know the size of spywareblaster and adware SE?
    im going to be downloading them from dial-up

    i have spybot already
     
  10. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    They are not large, just make sure you have AA Se and SB 1.3
     
  11. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    ok today i ran ad-aware SE and spywareBlaster. I also ran spybot last night. It found like 24 things but it could only delete like 15. Also today when i started up my computer it was REALLY messing up. I had a hard time just starting windows. So i have used them 3 programs. but still having the internet problem.I couldnt get HJT b/c i ran out of time before i had to come to work. but thats what im doing tomorrow. Im thinking since my computer is so new, would it be smart to just save everything i need (which isnt much) on a flash disk and just restore?? Then install avast anti-virus before i go back online?
     
  12. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    You have that option, but seeing what gets fixed will tell you what to avoid later.
     
  13. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Yea thats true. Ok when i ran ad-aware SE i didnt delete everything that it showed me b/c i didnt know if that was safe. I just deleted what I knew wasnt good. Should I?
     
  14. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Fix EVERYTHING AA says! Need that HJT log!
     
  15. rez410

    rez410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    ok i will delete everything AA says tonight and i will have my HJT log here tomorrow around this time.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323790

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice