What would make a a game jumpy on a capable machine?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Stiltzkin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
177
Ok, I've got the Painkiller demo here, and I've also got a nice machine to play it on: XP Home, Athlon XP 3200+, Radeon 9800 PRO 256mb, and a gig of memory. I do have a bit of background stuff and icons in ram, but it still shows over 700 megs free even while the game is running. So anyway, my specific problem is that the game just jumps a few frames every couple of seconds, which is irritating. The problem is identical when all the game performance options are turned all the way up as it is when they're turned all the way down, so that fact combined with my system specs makes me doubt it's a performance problem. I've got my latest vid driver. So what would be the cause of something like this? Thanks for any help!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
333
Do you experience this same problem on other games?? If you do, then I would point to some sort of hardware issue.

Also, since the game is a demo there might be some bugs.
 

Stiltzkin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
177
I dont have any problems with any other games. The demo works fine on every other machine I've played it on..
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
333
Try lowering your hardware acceleration. Right click on empty space on desktop, properties, Settings tab, Advance button on bottom of page. Next window go to troubleshooting tab, should see a slider bar....lower it to about half way and start the game.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
37
i have the same probs with my pc and unreal 2004. my pc is plenty good enuf to run that game, but it lags up every so often. i determined it was spyware running processes slowing it down. i check and there are a lot of processes running that i dont need and i end them and they just keep coming up. spybot and adaware dont really come up with anything...so how can i get rid of it or are there other solutions for this problem? i have hijaack this if that will help
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
333
Savage, go to the security forum and post a Hijack This log and someone will review and let you know what to delete.
 

Stiltzkin

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
177
Hey that worked. Thanks a lot! I'll have to learn more about hardware acceleration.
 
Joined
May 2, 2004
Messages
3
amphibian said:
Try lowering your hardware acceleration. Right click on empty space on desktop, properties, Settings tab, Advance button on bottom of page. Next window go to troubleshooting tab, should see a slider bar....lower it to about half way and start the game.
Seems to have fixed my prob as well (y)
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
My interest is peaked.

Why would lowering the graphical acceleration actually improve performance?
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2002
Messages
343
WarC said:
My interest is peaked.

Why would lowering the graphical acceleration actually improve performance?
Mine is too. Doesn't make sense that this would work. What happens to make it work better?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2003
Messages
1,536
If I am not mistaken, in WinXP and 2000, when you decrease the hardware acceleration it increases the frame capture rate thus making the game run smoother.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top