1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What would make a a game jumpy on a capable machine?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Stiltzkin, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stiltzkin

    Stiltzkin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    Ok, I've got the Painkiller demo here, and I've also got a nice machine to play it on: XP Home, Athlon XP 3200+, Radeon 9800 PRO 256mb, and a gig of memory. I do have a bit of background stuff and icons in ram, but it still shows over 700 megs free even while the game is running. So anyway, my specific problem is that the game just jumps a few frames every couple of seconds, which is irritating. The problem is identical when all the game performance options are turned all the way up as it is when they're turned all the way down, so that fact combined with my system specs makes me doubt it's a performance problem. I've got my latest vid driver. So what would be the cause of something like this? Thanks for any help!
     
  2. amphibian

    amphibian

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Do you experience this same problem on other games?? If you do, then I would point to some sort of hardware issue.

    Also, since the game is a demo there might be some bugs.
     
  3. Stiltzkin

    Stiltzkin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    I dont have any problems with any other games. The demo works fine on every other machine I've played it on..
     
  4. amphibian

    amphibian

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Try lowering your hardware acceleration. Right click on empty space on desktop, properties, Settings tab, Advance button on bottom of page. Next window go to troubleshooting tab, should see a slider bar....lower it to about half way and start the game.
     
  5. Savage2303

    Savage2303

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    i have the same probs with my pc and unreal 2004. my pc is plenty good enuf to run that game, but it lags up every so often. i determined it was spyware running processes slowing it down. i check and there are a lot of processes running that i dont need and i end them and they just keep coming up. spybot and adaware dont really come up with anything...so how can i get rid of it or are there other solutions for this problem? i have hijaack this if that will help
     
  6. amphibian

    amphibian

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Savage, go to the security forum and post a Hijack This log and someone will review and let you know what to delete.
     
  7. Stiltzkin

    Stiltzkin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    Hey that worked. Thanks a lot! I'll have to learn more about hardware acceleration.
     
  8. amphibian

    amphibian

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Glad that it worked out for you!
     
  9. Flotzie

    Flotzie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Seems to have fixed my prob as well (y)
     
  10. WarC

    WarC

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,531
    My interest is peaked.

    Why would lowering the graphical acceleration actually improve performance?
     
  11. Flotzie

    Flotzie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Dunno, but it worked for me :)
     
  12. GLiO

    GLiO

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    343
    Mine is too. Doesn't make sense that this would work. What happens to make it work better?
     
  13. jackal969k

    jackal969k

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,536
    If I am not mistaken, in WinXP and 2000, when you decrease the hardware acceleration it increases the frame capture rate thus making the game run smoother.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217396

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice