1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

What's the difference between intel and amd processors?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by georgeoshardo, Dec 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. georgeoshardo

    georgeoshardo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Just wondering...
     
  2. ozziebeanie

    ozziebeanie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,427
    First Name:
    Serena
  3. Grave_Digger

    Grave_Digger

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    not much really at least in the begin, till intel got pissed that amd were making the same clone cpu's which led to court lawsuits around 1993-94 but since Intel signed a contract with Amd back in the late 70s on how amd will make cpu's for intel but amd is not owned by intel but employed kinda of......
     
  4. rkarolak

    rkarolak

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Some of the specifications are different, but it's mostly just two competing companies creating processors. It's similar to asking what's the difference between two car companies. Besides that, AMD tends to make good desktop processors at the $200 range, Intel makes the best high-end processors... There are a bunch of little differences as well. When comparing them it's best to look on a case-by-case basis.
     
  5. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
  6. calvin-c

    calvin-c Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    I'm sure AMD produces some CPUs that use an FSB, just as Intel does, but I doubt if their current flagship product does since http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Front-side_bus says "The front-side bus has been criticized by AMD as being an old and slow technology that bottlenecks today's computer systems." I remember trying to compare specs last year when I was shopping for a new PC & discovered that AMD chips that use their HyperTransport don't use the FSB. I believe that includes the Phenom II line.
     
  7. Coastal

    Coastal

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    575
    If you were purchasing a laptop which one would you choose AMD or INTEL?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971448

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice