1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

When installing updates with Vista - Error Code 80070426

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by AhynesG1, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Okay so when I try to install updates, I get an error after about 11% of the download. It says: "Some updates were not installed
    "Failed: 4 updates"
    "Error(s) found:"
    "Code 80070426 Windows Updates encountered an unknown error."
    I'm been researching but couldn't find anything that would help my situation. I also saw a lot of "reformatting would be the best option"
    - Problem with that is, it's my brothers laptop and I don't believe it came with a Vista disc. So if there was a way to avoid reformatting that would be great. Please help :)

    If this is any use:
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Service Pack 1
    Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
    Model: Presario F700 (GR967UA#ABA)
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 1.80 GHz
    Memory: 1.00 GB
    System Type: 32-bit Operating System
    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Gandalf_the_Grey

    Gandalf_the_Grey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Hi AhynesG1

    Recommend you download/install/run Malwarebytes from my Signature.
    Be sure to run the Update function before each use.

    At the end of Malwarebytes run, it will produce a report.
    Please paste that report to your reply.

    Thanks
     
  3. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    I personally don't think it's a malware problem. The computer is pretty well protected. I use AVG and spyware doctor. I also use CCleaner. I'm currently scanning with Malwarebytes... 3 hours in and 0 objects were found as infected. We'll see what happens when it completes.
     
  4. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Scan just finished scanning as I posted my last post.
    Here are the results... just as I thought, no malware was found.

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.34
    Database version: 1882
    Windows 6.0.6001 Service Pack 1

    3/21/2009 6:52:55 PM
    mbam-log-2009-03-21 (18-52-55).txt

    Scan type: Full Scan (C:\|D:\|)
    Objects scanned: 212334
    Time elapsed: 3 hour(s), 15 minute(s), 18 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 0
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 0
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 0

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
     
  5. Gandalf_the_Grey

    Gandalf_the_Grey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Thanks for posting the report. Doing the Malwarebytes didn't hurt and now we know the computer is clean.

    Do you have any Event errors associated with the Code 8070426?

    Thanks
     
  6. marsh_0x

    marsh_0x

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Years ago we always turned off the anti-virus program when installing updates.
    It can block some important registry changes, well worth a try.
    Make sure you re-enable after installation if a reboot is not required.
     
  7. Gandalf_the_Grey

    Gandalf_the_Grey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    marsh_0x, I would not recommend advising anyone to deactivate their AV software without first disconnecting the computer from the internet.

    There is not better way to get infected than doing what you suggested while still connected to the internet.
     
  8. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    I don't believe there are any Event errors. If, to check that, you go to Event viewer then there's nothing there related to my problem.
     
  9. Gandalf_the_Grey

    Gandalf_the_Grey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Can you do a sfc /scannow ?
     
  10. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Doing that now.
     
  11. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Okay the scan just finished. It says there are 1,307 (Operational) events.
     
  12. Gandalf_the_Grey

    Gandalf_the_Grey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    This link will show you how to get the results from the sfc fix.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928228

    When this report is finished, right click on the top of the Command Prompt window.
    Select Edit > Select All
    Press the Enter key
    *the report is now in memory*
    Open a Reply post and paste (Ctrl v) the report.

    Thanks
     
  13. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    For the sfc scan, when it finished, the command prompt box would disappear so I couldn't do as you said.
    From the site, when I tried to get the results nothing happened when I typed in: findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log >sfcdetails.txt
     
  14. Gandalf_the_Grey

    Gandalf_the_Grey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    154
  15. AhynesG1

    AhynesG1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Yes, I typed in "sfc /scannow" and clicked to run as adminstrator... the window just disappeared when it reached 100%.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/811344

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice