where can i find my video card in my computer.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

iamstuck

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2001
Messages
137
i need to know where can i find the video card installed in my computer. I'm installing max payne the game in my comp. but the installation is suddenly stopped buy a message warning me that i need a direct x 8 3D graphics accelerator for the game to work proprely. But the problem is that i don't know where to find the 3D graphic card. plz help.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,484
Hiya

Just about to go to bed, but one last one.

Go to Control Panel | System. Device Manager. Click on Video, expand it and you will find the name of the card.

Regards

eddie
 

iamstuck

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 5, 2001
Messages
137
my mistake it wanted a more compatible directx 8 graphic display accelerator. i don't know where that is. thnx again.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Are you asking physically where is the graphic card in the PC? It may not be a separate card but a chip on the motherboard (the main assembly). To tell open the PC case and see where the monitor is connected. If it is connected to a standalone card that is the graphics card.

Some games require a high-end graphic card with lot of video memory, such as 32MB or more. Eddie is suggesting that you could install DirectX 8 without upgrading the graphic card and then see what happens. It's worth a try and is good advice.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
48
May I ask a Q. How do you disable on-board VGA. I went to my Bios sett-up but it is gray'd out so I can not change it. Also have try'd changing the on-board jumpers but no help there.

L.(",)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
LOOY,

Normally it is automatically disabled if a video card is inserted into a PC. On some PCs you have to manually disable it in BIOS. Maybe your PC is an automatic one. Have you added a video card and have a problem? If so, what is the make and model of the PC, motherboard manufacturer name if you know it, and the BIOS maker and version you are using? The most likely cure is a BIOS update.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
48
I got hold of a graphics card just a 8meg PCI. can not use AGP.
at the mo my VGA shares my ram. so 8megs is better then what I have now. So when I put the card in the screen stays blank when I boot up. can not change settings in the bios. but have try'd with the VGA jumper and that doe's not help.

AMD k-6 500
MainBoard Pentium MMX
American Megatrends bios V.?

were can I find the main info of my Bios. Have try'd the boot up screen ,but it's to fast for me.

L.(",)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
48
Hi just open'd up the case and found this......

AMIBIOS 586 1985-95
DE5-4360

chipset TX-Pro 2

Hope this is of help.

L.(",)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
243
The jumber JP3 (near the SIMM Slots) should be switched so that it covers pin 1 and 2, (not 2 and 3).
(for the TX-Pro 2 MB)



The above was posted on a forum... didn't see if there was any feedback saying the fix worked or not...
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
48
Thanks m8y.
But have done that already, but still no joy. At the mo there is no jumper on it (Itook it off to see if it will still work) and it is.

Starting to think M/Board is bugger'd now.

L.(",)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Pentium MMX is not a name of a motherboard manufacture. Without the motherboard manufacture name or PC make and model it is impossible to help you. You may have to take your PC to a shop for assistances. Get an estimate before letting them do anything. Sorry.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
48
Is this of any help.........

M/Board: Mainboard AMI

Proceser & BIOS Information: 51

Version Info: 0831Manufactucher ID:001437..
(Hsing Tech Enterprise Co. LTD)


L.(",)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
48
Hi.

as it stands, this is as a far as i have got:-

*I have removed the jumper and as is stands, the system is still running. (as far as i am aware this should not be happening).

* I have replugged and unplugged the VGA lead (with and without the new card installed) to the motherboard, with the new card in situ, but to no avail.

Am i to take take it this is a BIOS problem, if so, what is the protocol to take to rectify this problem.

Mit freundlichen gruessen

Confused

:confused: :confused:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top