1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WHERE CAN I get a picture of Word 2000's default toolbars?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Gary R, Jan 21, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    Have problem outlined in earlier posts re the Toolbars in W2K changing, with some that were there being gone & other icons substituted.
    Thought I had it fixed but it still seems wrong somehow, & not having a picture of what the default looks like makes it rather hard to figure out what should be there.
    IS there a place on the web showing the default bars (by default, I mean those W2K sets up when first set up on the HD)
    OR, would it just be better to delete W2K from the drive then reload it.
    :
    I have about 15 Mb. in the MyDocument folder, & its subfolders ... can the MyDocuments folder be copied to a CD without losing subfolders?
     
  2. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    If you delete normal.dot, then start Word, you will see the default view.


    In the picture I have attached, the top toolbar is Standard and the one below is formatting, and to the best of my knowledge, they are the default toolbars you view.


    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=323860">


    If you want to go the route of re-installing Word, then insert the Office 2000 CD and click Remove.

    As to copying my folders to a CD, the subfolders should be copied as well, but uninstalling Word should not touch the files that are on your system. It will just uninstall the application.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Gram123

    Gram123

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Further to what RandyG said, when you first install Office 2000, the Standard and Formatting toolbars share the same row by default.
    As such, you may well have started off with less buttons visible than you have now.
    Also, by default, the menus show the buttons that you've most recently used and hide those you don't use.

    I don't like either of these options and so I always switch these 2 functions off when I install Word on a new PC. In addition, you can add and remove specific buttons that you do or don't use at will. E.g. I like to have the "Page Setup" and the "Send to Mail Recipient" buttons on the toolbars right there for me to click without having to search through menus.

    1) To toggle between having the Standard and Formatting toolbars on one line, right-click in the toolbar area. At the bottom of the list of toolbars, click "Customize". Click the Options tab, and then uncheck (or check, whichever you prefer) "Standard & Formatting Toolbars share one line".
    2) In the same place, uncheck "Menus show most recent buttons first".
    3) To add buttons of your choice to the toolbars, click the "Commands" tab. Click on a category on the left, then find the button you want in the Commands section on the right. Drag the button onto whichever toolbar, in any position (i.e. between the other buttons or right at the end).
    Keep adding to your heart's content, but bear in mind that many of the buttons are available on other toolbars.

    HTH
    Gram
     
  4. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    I have the Standard & Formatting plus "Menus Show..." options off now in Toolbars > Customize, and if it works, here's a jpg (41k or so) of current tool bar.
     
  5. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr ......... Let's try it again.
    Here's .jpg of the current W2K toolbar (I hope!)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Gram123

    Gram123

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Looks good to me, Gary.
    The only thing that differs from yours and the original toolbars is the button on the far right of the Formatting toolbar, next to the Font Colour button.

    Gram
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice