Where can I see my AGP Driver listed ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rysz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Messages
76
Have early W98, never used AGP slot, now i am going to,where it is listed and how can i determine wether it is from my mother board CD or Microsoft ? I am not even sure it is there. Mother Board DTK(1998) new video card Radeon VE 32/64 DDR.

Thank You
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
I’m sure it is there someplace but I’ve never run across it. Just plug the card in and install the drivers. The card will show up in device manager under Display adapters.

Belarc Advisor doesn’t even show the AGP but shows the PCI bus and the particulars. I’ve always assumed it is part of the Intel busmaster controllers.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2001
Messages
101
On my system, the AGP controller shows up under System Devices in Device Manager. As Slipe said, you should be able to just plug it in and go, at least that's what I did when I replaced my motherboard two weeks ago.
 

rysz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Messages
76
Thanks Slipe
Drivers ? I thought there is only one.
How one plugs monitor while changing Video Cards ?
Is this the right way ?:
1 Plug new V Card
2 install diver from CD
3 plug monitor to a new V C
4 remove old V C and old driver
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Lot of shutting down that way. You don’t have to install the driver before plugging in the monitor.

You can also remove the old driver before shutting down, and remove the card when you install the new one. Windows will supply a crummy display sufficient to install the new driver. It looks just like safe mode because safe mode doesn’t use the driver.

I wouldn’t think you would want to install the new driver with the old card and driver active anyway.

On my Win98SE system the AGP isn’t in device manager.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
agp driver version should be listed under system devices

To install new card, go to add remove programs, remove any that refer to the current card and drivers.

go to start/settings/control panel/display/settings/advanced/adapter/change/follow prompts, select show all compatible devices, scroll to the top of the list and choose standard vga, follow rest of prompts. shut down. Remove old card, install new card, reboot, windows should find new hard ware and you should be able to install new drivers off cd.
 

rysz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 12, 2001
Messages
76
Thank You all Guys
slipe, yes i was concerned about display without a driver, not a word about this on lousy radeon booklet, since i never seen safe mode it would really freak me out.

brianF, I found the driver at system devices clicked on it and was able to search Microsoft for better one, but there is none.
Thanks again, now i can tweak this amazing machine a
little.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top