1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

where do u plug the floppy drive?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by strawberry1, May 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. strawberry1

    strawberry1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    i recently built a pc and now ive come to use the floppy drive i have just realised that it is not plugged into the power supply inside the pc.....there are only two plugs it fits and both are stuck with other wires that have other plugs on, one goes in the hd and the other in the cdrom/dvd, do i need some kind of adapter to make one of the spare plugs fit?
    i tried it in the two it fits when i use the one that is connected to the cd the pc shorts(eekk) and when i use the one connected to the hd the pc freezes when i try to use the floppy.
    hope this isnt too much of a stoopid question!:(
     
  2. Gram123

    Gram123

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    Power supply cable:
    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=405194">

    This may lead off another cable, which in turn is linked to the power supply.
    One thing I'd suggest is that you check the other little plug that goes from the drive to the MB is connected the right way round. I had a similar problem with a CD Rom drive recently and it took me a while to figure out I had the plug upside down!

    Gram
     

    Attached Files:

  3. carltasha

    carltasha

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    983
    It is allso posible that the floppy is fryed
     
  4. strawberry1

    strawberry1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    yes thats the connection that ive tried to plug into the drive, would it be ok if the connection also lead off to other plugs and they were plugged into somewhere else?like the cdrom? is it shorting because you are not supposed to do that or is it because the floppy is fryed like someone suggested? which is probable as i got it at a computer fair and its second hand.
    anyway i will try an adapter that someone else on this site suggetsed, thanks for the help:)
     
  5. strawberry1

    strawberry1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    oh and by the way i think the other plug that goes in the mb is ok because my pc recognises my floppy but the light at the front doesnt come on and when i put a floppy in it says please put a disk in drive a when there already is.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    No light on floppy = no power to floppy or bad floppy drive.

    Since you say you just built the computer, is this a new floppy drive, or has it worked in another computer?
     
  7. strawberry1

    strawberry1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    hi...i bought the floppy from a pc fair but its second hand, ive never used it in another pc.
    i thought the lights not on because although the floppy is connected to the motherboard, its not connected to the power supply inside the casing.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I think that pretty much means no power to floppy.

    It can't work without power.

    I'm not sure if I'm missing something here.......but it appears you said you are putting a floppy disk in the floppy drive, no light comes on, it's connected to motherboard.....and it's not connected to a power connector.......and you are wondering why it's not working.....

    Please correct me if I've missed anything.
     
  9. strawberry1

    strawberry1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    ooooh this is getting confusing.....please read my original post, the problem is i have nowhere to plug it in, when i do it shorts and so on.....read the 1st post and u will get what i mean.
     
  10. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    If this is an older floppy drive,and I assume it is, then the power connector will fit either way. First and foremost turn off the power to the computer and unplug the power connectors going to the CDRom and Hard drive (make a note as to how they are connected). Now plug the power connector to the floppy drive and turn on the computer. Does the floppy light flash for a second or two then go off or does it come on and stay on? If it stays on then unplug the computer again and turn the power connection over and plug it back into the floppy drive. Once you have this correct then turn off the computer and re-attach the power leads for the CDRom and Hard Drive. Hope this helps.

    Kilowatt


    So you'll know, the red wire on the power lead generally is closest to the flat ribbon cable.
     
  11. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    Hi kilowatt1


    Yes the floppy drive should be able to be plugged into a power connector that is shared with a hard drive or cdrom. Since it doesn't work I would think that the used floppy drive is bad or as suggested you have the power cable hooked up upside down. Get a new one before it frys something else.

    You said that you have spare plugs? If the connector on the spare cable fits you could hook them to the hard drive or cdrom.
     
  12. strawberry1

    strawberry1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    ok im gonna try turning the plug the other way up and see what happens, fingers crossed. the spare plugs i was talking about are totally different and dont fit into anything ive installed.they are female and kind of fat with four holes.

    also i have some usb ports at the front, they have cables running from them into the casing what are they supposed to plug into?the pins are like one pin, like what you get on the end of head phones or speakers wires.
    i wasnt too botherd because i have 2 usb ports at the back...i was just wondering.
     
  13. Gram123

    Gram123

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,829
    These are for additional CD ROM / DVD drives etc.

    Gram
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/78535

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice