1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Where is my new partition?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brattygirl, Jul 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brattygirl

    brattygirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I reformatted my hard drive and decided to create a partition. When prompted, I formatted the largest partition. When I came back to check the progress, my system was finished partitioning and was attempting to install Windows XP. Since that's impossible without the security key, it froze and had to be rebooted, at which time I entered the security key and it continued with the installation.

    It's complete and everything is reinstalled, but where's my partition? I'm missing 100 gigs and don't know how to find it.:confused:
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Sounds like you only created one partition and Windows XP installed onto that one. That means you should have some unallocated space on the drive which you need to create another partition and format it. To do that you need to use Disk Management: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/309000
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    How large is the drive and what version of XP did you use?
     
  4. brattygirl

    brattygirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks! I'll check it out.
     
  5. brattygirl

    brattygirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Do you have SP2 installed? If not, the entire hard drive may not get recognized.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yeah, you do need at least SP1 installed to support drives over 127GB. You can get the service packs and the updates from the Windows Update site. How big of a drive does Disk Management see?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593390

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice