Where's info

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

munrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
4
Hi, everyone.
Thanks in advance for bearing with my ignorance.
I have recently acquired an Acer Aspire model# 1872, AMD K6-2 processor 333MHz, onboard graphics and sound (3D Rage II, and, Crystal something or another, respectively), 94MB ram, 4.3GB Western Digital HDD. Received this machine from a friend for helping to set-up a newer computer. This person had deleted too many Windows 98 files to be able to boot and had no installation/recovery media.
I brought the machine home, changed HDD to 30GB Seagate, Ram to 192 (128+64), installed "slipstream Windows XP-SP2"(eldergeek.com) made from the Windows SP1 cd that came with my Dell Dimension 2350(upgraded to 384MB Ram, 80GB Maxtor + 60GB Seagate, additional 52x CD-RW).

Finally, my question. Where can I find the Motherboard model#/serial# and, the computer serial#, to be able to go to Acer/AMD to find out what I need to get to make this frustratingly slow machine work right.
 

munrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
4
Yes, installed ethernet card (Comp-USA brand, $15.00), updated, surf fine. Using D-Link DI-604 w/BellSucks DSL.
 

munrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
4
Thanks, I'm going to try some of the ID utilities to see what I can find out.
Munrow
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
2,563
Search Google for "Everest" ittl give all the info you need.

Its the 2nd link.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I would have thought that Windows XP would have all the drivers needed for this laptop. The reason thats it's slow because it is; this is nowhere near the ideal computer to run Windows XP and with SP2 at that. The CPU is slow, theres not enough memory, its a slow hard drive, and the graphics doesn't have enough memory or power for XP's fancy GUI.

This would be the ideal computer to run Windows 98 or ME on.
 

munrow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
4
Thanks for the input.
I've found out that the mobo is a model V58xA (sound right?), chipset is ALi M1531 rev 179, super i/o chip is SMC 93xAPM rev 3. Hope to find out more after fumbling around some more.
I've disabled all not-vital services, including themes, so as to conserve resources.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top