1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

where's my ram gone?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by shelley, Jan 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shelley

shelley Thread Starter

I recently upgraded my RAM from 128MB to 256MB but when I boot the m/c tells me I actually have 320MB. Not life threatening but I'm puzzled. Of more concern is that I can't say I've noticed a smidgin' of difference for doubling the RAM. I use the PC for graphics work with CorelDraw/Photopaint and several CAD apps.

2. Linkmaster

Linkmaster

Hi shelley,
    You should notice a little difference in loading time and other operations. I upgraded mine to 128 from 64 and didnt notice a lot at first but for some reason over time I did. Of course im no memory expert. The extra 64mb you are showing shouldnot be a problem.

3. ratchet

ratchet

Shelly,

Could be to much in startup, check system resources right after startup, my machine is at 92%.
    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/Select all, and then copy then paste and print with word or wordpad.
    I have seen up to 30 + items.

You can check each one here,
    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.htm

Then go to start/ run type msconfig/ok
    In system config. utility go to startup and uncheck the ones you
    don't need, click ok and restart.
    You will see selective startup, check don't show me this again.

4. slipe

slipe

Right click My Computer and select Properties. How much RAM does that show?