which card is better?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gillhaj02

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
60
can u recommend a good graphics card 2 me i av 736mb ram, 1.66 ghz athlon xp 2000+ and a kvm266pm motherboard
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
dont buy one of these all in one cards either IMO, get a good gaming card and buy a separate external TV box for connecting your monitor to the pc, x-box, ps2, cable box etc.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
gillhaj02 said:
can u recommend a good graphics card 2 me i av 736mb ram, 1.66 ghz athlon xp 2000+ and a kvm266pm motherboard
ATI 9800pro, or 6600GT are your best bet, however you will need a 400watt min psu
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
gillhaj02 said:
can u recommend a good graphics card 2 me i av 736mb ram, 1.66 ghz athlon xp 2000+ and a kvm266pm motherboard
to be honest your rig is getting a bit dated for some of the newer games, my sons pc is Sempron2500+ 333fsb/512DDR400/6800GT, he can play those games pretty well, your fsb is 266 so am not sure what your pc will play like, but those 2 cards would at least give you a chance, otherwise your looking at a mobo/cpu/ram upgrade as well.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Mercury mobo?, if it is it has a Via266 chipset and the mobo has 333fsb, so if your ram is DDR333 or 400 it somewhat similar to my sons pc. The Sempron2500+ is around 1.7ghz at 333fsb
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
448
I have lousy powwercolor 9250 at the moment and it handles H/L 2 ok. It isn't the most exciting experience in the gaming realm but it works well enough with a 350 watt antec power supply to run complete without any trouble and this card is less of a choice than the one you are considering. That being said, I am waiting on my new 6600gt from newegg................
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2005
Messages
1,023
gillhaj, I have the powercolor version of that 9550, and it works VERY WELL with games such as Delta Force Xtreme, Black Hawk Down, Battlefield 2, etc etc, so it should do you well enough. Only thing is I have a P4 3Ghz and 1Gig ram too, so that helps. I run those games on pretty high setting, at 1024 x 768, no problems. I never get any vid lag unless it is due to the internet connection. Yuo will need to have a bigger power supply though, just in case. I have a 450W one.

Scorp.
 

gillhaj02

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
60
i know this probably sounds stupid 2 u guys but is there a limit 2 how high my psu can be?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top