1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Which laptop to choose?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by timelord726, Jul 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. timelord726

timelord726 Thread Starter

Hello everybody! This is my first post here and I'm looking for some advice. I'm a student looking for a laptop. I need it to be cheap, i.e. $800 or less, but also have a good feature set. Reasonably fast, with some memory (may upgrade later) is a must. I also need (or really really want) a good video card as I'm planning on running games on it (newer games, but I don't care if I have to lower the settings ridiculously to get it to run at a reasonable speed).

I'm currently looking at two laptops for sale at CompUSA. Could someone tell me which of these they would recommend? (Unfortunately I can't post links to CompUSA's site for specs, but I have provided the product codes so you can try and find them yourself! I would appreciate the effort!)

Acer Aspire AS3502WLCi - CompUSA Product Code: 319907
    Toshiba Satellite A85-S107 - CompUSA Product Code: 328883

I'm leaning heavily towards the Toshiba because of the ATI Radeon graphics card it has. But looking more closely, the Acer is an all-around better system and for $100 cheaper! It's really the graphics card that's making me think twice. Is there any way to upgrade the graphics card in the Acer? Or should I just go with the Toshiba and upgrade the memory and deal with the other features it may or may not have?

Or does someone else have an idea as to another laptop I may be able to get with a similar price range and feature set?

I really appreciate all the help, guys! Thanks much!

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob