1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Which Notebook? AMD Turion 64 Mk-36 2Ghz or AMD Turion 64 xl-50 1.6Ghz

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by roscolo, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. roscolo

roscolo Thread Starter

Been a desktop user for many moons. Buying a notebook - narrowed it down to 2 - and actually have purchased both but will return one. I'm a pro photog and do a lot of photoshop type work.

My choices are a Compaq v6210 with an AMD Turion 64 mk-36 2Ghz processor or a Gateway MT6451 with an AMD Turion 64 x2 tl-50 dual core. Other than that specs are similar. The compaq has an 80GB 5400 rpm hd and the gateway has a 120GB 4200 rpm hd.

Hesitate to load photoshop onto these machines to do tests since i'm returning one of them. The compaq has a vista base number of 3. the gateway has a vista base number of 2.7 Something about the video processor there.

Someone said the dual-core gateway would be a little better / faster, but on the contrary, the compaq seems a little faster. Don't know what's up with the gateway, but it takes forever to load web pages. slower than dialup. I'm on a wireless network, but the compaq is on the same network and pages load extremely fast.

Which one of these processors is preferable for mostly photoshop / graphic work?

The compaq has a NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150. The Gateway has a ATI RADEON XPRESS 1150. Not too crazy about the ATI Radeon 9800 pro I've had in my desktop. the compaq is $599. the gateway is $699.

Can someone help me choose between these 2 notebooks? I would post links to the specs but the links are to a retailer.

thanks

2. vonnieglen

vonnieglen