which o/s is it now vista or 7

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ron24151

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
293
I have a gateway w/ vista premium 64 bit on it, upgraded to windows 7 premium 32 bit. so now what is it know as?

do i look for programs that work w/ what o/s and at 32 or 64 bit.. when i down load drivers which one 32 or 64....

so what do i exactly have now?

thanks
ron
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
If you installed Windows 7 32 bit, you have a 32 bit operating system and need 32 bit drivers
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The "upgrade" from Vista 64-bit to Windows 7 32-bit wiped out the entire Vista 64-bit operating system. It's as if it never existed. You now have a 32-bit operating system.
 

ron24151

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
293
now is threr a way to go back to vista 64/

and upgrade w/ the 64 bit 7 upgrade.

so which would be better 32 0r 64 7?

any benefits to either?

thanks
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Yes, there's a way to "go back". You would again completely wipe out the existing Windows 7 install and do a clean install of Vista. Then you could upgrade in place to Windows 7 64-bit. Why did you install Windows 7 32-bit in the first place rather than 64-bit?
 

ron24151

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 12, 2003
Messages
293
Some one i knew did it because more programs work w/ 32 instead of 64, like adobe flash doesnt work w/ 64 and my printers, no updated drivers yet.. and so on..

why do I have on my start up menu there are 2 e for internet one has 64 at the end, so why..

thanks
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,838
I have no problem with flash and I run win7 enterprise 64bit.

I think the very first thing you need to do is to decide which os you want ie vista or win7. Then we can proceed to do the install.
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
I have no problem with flash and I run win7 enterprise 64bit.

I think the very first thing you need to do is to decide which os you want ie vista or win7. Then we can proceed to do the install.
Most of the users do report issues with Flash player on 64 bit windows
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The poster is probably referring to the incompatibilities between Internet Explorer 64-bit and Flash.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top