Which one is the bottleneck?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ClickHappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
48
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 740 @ 1.73GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 30 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 4020 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6370M, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 164684 MB, Free - 22453 MB; D: Total - 290244 MB, Free - 84997 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer Inc., K52JT
Antivirus: None

It says I have 8 processors, but I have a quad core... It says that is has "hyperthreading".
Battlefield Bad Company 2 runs at 15 FPS, even on the lowest settings you can go. I want to find out which of the hardware devices is bottlenecking the performance. Should I get 8GB of RAM? Will that even help?
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
277
4GB of RAM is plenty.

Your HD 6370M is a bit weak to say the least and games are mostly GPU (grahics card) dependent.
 

ClickHappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
48
So is there anything I can do? If I got the best graphics card in the world, which of my devices would become the bottleneck?
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2002
Messages
277
Depends if the graphics in your laptop is upgradable.

The mobile versions of graphics cards tend to be less pwoerfull then there desktop counterparts.

You could also check if your laptop has the external graphics card port.
 

ClickHappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
48
Ok So if we knew that the graphics card was NOT the bottleneck, what would be the next bottleneck?
 

Triple6

Rob
Retired Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The graphics card IS the bottleneck and it cannot be upgraded in that laptop. The CPU and RAM are more than adequate for the game.
 

ClickHappy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
48
Hypothetically,
Ok. If I had a desktop computer. With the best graphics card in the world. and I had the processor thats in my laptop above, with 4GB of RAM. Which one would be the one that would hypothetically slow the computer down? The RAM, or the processor? and let's say I was running Crysis 2 on maxed out settings.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top