1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

whoppix live cd

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by robweaz, Jan 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robweaz

robweaz Thread Starter

i downloaded an iso, mounted it and burned it's contents onto a cd and tried to boot from the cd. but it doesn't boot and its my first time using a live cd..i dont know anything about any other operating systems except windows....can some one help me?

2. arochester

arochester

Is your BIOS set to boot from the CD-Rom, or is it set to boot from the Hard Drive?

3. robweaz

robweaz Thread Starter

i had a problem with my cdrom...i was also wondering if i can use the whoppix system on a desktop pc, also can i use a belkin 802.11g wireless g desktop network card or do i need to get drivers off the net...thanks

4. arochester

arochester

Whoppix is described as " a stand-alone penetration-testing live CD" " designed for security auditors and penetration testers." Is that what you want?

It was based on Knoppix (hence WhOPPIX) but has been replaced by Whax, based on Slax (hence whAX).

It seems an odd choice for a first LiveCD.

"i was also wondering if i can use the whoppix system on a desktop pc". Your first problem seems to be getting the LiveCD to work. When you haven't even seen it yet, it doesn't seem relevant to say if you can use the Whoppix system on your PC.

If Whoppix is NOT what you want you would be much better to choose a more mainstream distro

5. robweaz

robweaz Thread Starter