1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

who's hacking my system

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by starwaves77, Oct 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starwaves77

    starwaves77 Thread Starter

    Feb 16, 2002

    This one is really good, today I was on the phone with an AOL tech, over a menial aol file issue, talked a bit, all politely, got the answer I was looking for.

    Later, I was surfing when my Firewall popped up an "incoming connection alert".........

    DETAILS: Someone from ACA21FF5.ipt.aol.com [], port 1711 wants to connect to port 1214 owned by 'Main Module' on your computer

    the application they were trying to access was my waol.exe 6.0, which I was using at the time. I didn't deny it or permit, just left them in limbo.

    I traced the IP adress to this:

    Search results for:

    OrgName: America Online
    OrgID: AOL
    Address: 22000 AOL Way
    City: Dulles
    StateProv: VA
    PostalCode: 20166
    Country: US

    NetRange: -
    NetName: AOL-172BLK
    NetHandle: NET-172-128-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-172-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: DAHA-01.NS.AOL.COM
    NameServer: DAHA-02.NS.AOL.COM
    NameServer: DAHA-07.NS.AOL.COM
    RegDate: 2000-03-24
    Updated: 2003-08-08

    TechHandle: AOL-NOC-ARIN
    TechName: America Online, Inc.
    TechPhone: +1-703-265-4670
    TechEmail: [email protected]

    OrgAbuseHandle: AOL382-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Abuse
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-703-265-4670
    OrgAbuseEmail: [email protected]

    OrgNOCHandle: AOL236-ARIN
    OrgNOCName: NOC
    OrgNOCPhone: +1-703-265-4670
    OrgNOCEmail: [email protected]

    OrgTechHandle: AOL-NOC-ARIN
    OrgTechName: America Online, Inc.
    OrgTechPhone: +1-703-265-4670
    OrgTechEmail: [email protected]

    That alert has NEVER come in on my computer!
    It is connected without doubt to the call I made........

    Their handle is AOL-NOC-ARIN, and here are it's results>

    Name: America Online, Inc.
    Handle: AOL-NOC-ARIN
    Address: 12100 Sunrise Valley Drive
    City: Reston
    StateProv: VA
    PostalCode: 20191
    Country: US
    Updated: 2001-03-28
    Phone: +1-703-265-4670 (Office)
    Email: [email protected]


    I don't like hackers any more than you do, but this is my own ISP,
    your opinions on what they might be up to by accessing my system instead of the old fashioned email?????

    And if you can get better research on the above please fill me in,

    In all my years on AOL, no one from AOL has tried to access any ports, ever, so this is a first,

    I hope you can help me get my facts straight before I mention it to them........

    Many thanks,
  2. The_AcE


    Oct 12, 2003
    well thats a great discovery, wut a luck i dont have AOL as my ISP... if this situation happens again, u should proly tell them and change ISP...
    becuz their not allowed by the law to do that unless u gave them the permission
  3. $teve


    Oct 9, 2001
    Possibly an auto update feature of AOHELLS software.
    Ive never used or woulnt use AOHELL.

    Just block it with your firewall.
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172938

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice