1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Why am I still slow???

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cparma, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cparma

    cparma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Ok, I've asked in the past how to speed things up on my computer and I was told to add some protection. So I've Added:

    1. Spybot
    2. AdAware Personal SE
    3. SpyWare Guard
    4. SpyWare Blaster
    5. Zone Alarm Free
    6. Hijack This
    -AND- I downloaded Mozilla Firefox browser

    Now I'm a little slower than I was before. What should I do?
    My PC isn't the greatest. Here's what I've got:

    Microsoft Windows XP (Professional) Version 2002
    Intel Pentium II Processor
    348 MHz
    128 MB of Ram

    PLEASE HELP!!
     
  2. FinestRanger

    FinestRanger

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,367
    Please go to the link below and downloadHiJackThis by Merijn Bellekom:

    ***NOTE***Do not FIX anything without a log analyzer's guidance. MOST of what's listed is necessary for your computer to operate normally.

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html


    Alternate download links:

    http://www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html

    HiJackThis download link


    Under "Official Downloads" HiJackThis. It's the 2nd one down.

    Download and unzip to a permanent folder of your own creation.

    Open HiJackThis. Click "Scan". Then, in the lower left corner, click "Save Log".

    Save it to your permanent HiJackThis folder (or floppy disk if necessary).

    The log will open in Notepad. Click "Edit" then "Select All".

    Copy and paste the log back to this thread.



    After that's done, open HiJackThis. Click "Config" and put a checkmark in the "Make backups before fixing items" box.
     
  3. edsod

    edsod

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    303
    128 Mb memory is no good to run XP pro and be fast...
    You need more ! :D
     
  4. FinestRanger

    FinestRanger

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,367
    No kidding! :D 256 MB RAM is the MINIMUM recommended for XP.

    Post the HiJackThis log anyways...perhaps we can disable some programs from loading on start-up until you can buy some more RAM.
     
  5. cparma

    cparma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Well, I'm not well versed in this stuff, but I was afraid that I didn't have enough RAM. It was a free computer. Maybe I should downgrade to Windows 98??
    Tell me what you think. In the meantime, here's a new HJT log.
    I already had HJT downloaded, it should be up to date. Thanks a bunch!
    _____________________________________________________________

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 12:32:07 AM, on 9/11/2004
    Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\AOLacsd.exe
    C:\Program Files\Network Associates\Common Framework\FrameworkService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\Mcshield.exe
    C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\VsTskMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\SHSTAT.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Network Associates\Common Framework\UpdaterUI.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
    C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\AOLSPY~1\AOLSP Scheduler.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\ACS\AOLDial.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\aoltray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgbhp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\waol.exe
    C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\shellmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Aol\aoltpspd.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Jay Parma\My Documents\Hijack This\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ShStatEXE] "C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\SHSTAT.EXE" /STANDALONE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [McAfeeUpdaterUI] "C:\Program Files\Network Associates\Common Framework\UpdaterUI.exe" /StartedFromRunKey
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\bin\jusched.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AOL Spyware Protection] "C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\AOLSPY~1\AOLSP Scheduler.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AOLDialer] C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\ACS\AOLDial.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pure Networks Port Magic] "C:\PROGRA~1\PURENE~1\PORTMA~1\PortAOL.exe" -Run
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE
    O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: America Online 9.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\aoltray.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar search - res://C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll/SEARCH.HTML
    O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Shdocvw.dll
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2004061001/housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{AE50772F-F02F-4F4F-B1BA-702ACBD33ED0}: NameServer = 205.188.146.146
     
  6. FinestRanger

    FinestRanger

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,367
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\bin\jusched.exe

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER

    I'd uninstall the AOL Spyware Protection...you already have SpywareBlaster.

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AOL Spyware Protection] "C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\AOLSPY~1\AOLSP Scheduler.exe"

    HotSync only needs to be running while your palm's connected.

    http://www.reger24.de/prozesse/HOTSYNC.EXE.php

    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Sony Handheld\HOTSYNC.EXE

    These fixes won't remove the program, it only stops them from autoloading.

    I assume you know how to use HijackThis, since you already had it on your computer...BUT...

    Open HJT. Click "Scan". Put a checkmark next to the lines above.

    Close ALL browser windows and click "Fix checked."

    Restart your computer.
     
  7. cparma

    cparma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Ok, I'll do all of that and let you know.
    But, I don't know why it showed that HotSync was running, the last time I ran a HotSync with my Palm Pilot was 2 days ago. And as for Real Player, it never seems to go away.

    Once I remove the stuff from my HJT log, will it only temporarily help me?

    (I really appreciate your help and input)
     
  8. FinestRanger

    FinestRanger

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,367
    Well...you DEFINITELY need more RAM, I'm just trying to help things out until you do.

    For RealPlayer:

    http://www.help2go.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=211

    The 04 entry, in HJT, shows that it loads on start up. The HJT fix should stop it from loading. You can manually start the program as needed.

    AND...you're welcome. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice