why..and what happened?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Treasurerat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
152
with my win 98se...friday night..it was working fine and the next thing i know it will only boot up in safe mode......i deleted the os and did a reinstall and got it back up and running..but im sick and tired of the cpu crashing..running a gateway 450 pro...,,time for a new one i guess....thanks for letting me whine! :)
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
2,740
Is this a statement or a question Rat?
Sometimes we have to re-format because the system gets clogged with dross.
If your up and running fine now make sure you keep it that way.
(y)
Wolfey
 

Treasurerat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
152
it was a question....everything was fine a few hours before then...nothing!...the sys resources were 80 % open...with no major programs running or internet download or web activity.....if i buy a new cpu with win xp am i looking at the same possiblities of crashes or is it more stable of an os than win 98se?...i just get frustrated having to re-install and i dont want to deal with it on a new unit...thanks for your reply
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
2,740
Rat
In my opinion 98. unlike ME, is a very stable OS, XP is even better than 98.
What you have to bear in mind is, as I say, don't let the system get overun by trash.
I'm unaware if you have had any of the following;
SpyBot (Search and Destroy): http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html
More spyware Killers: http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
Ad Killers: http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
Anti Virus: http://www.grisoft.com/doc/1
Firewall: http://www.zonelabs.com/store/appli...k1.skuList&&zl_catalog_view_id=201&lid=nav_db

Install these Rat and update them regularly and you won't go far wrong.

Wolfey
 

Treasurerat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
152
thanks....i have norton 2005 internet....and had spybot and adaware on it...far as i know i was super clean..but i do have youngsters at home,,thanks for the links i will try them out ,thanks Wolfey
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
2,740
Your welcome mate
I had Norton for a while and its, not to put a too finer point on it, crap.
PS To the mods if they wish to remove this post regarding my phraseology then I do not have a problem with that.
Wolfey
 

Treasurerat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
152
i agree with you...had nothing but trouble with norton from day one....hogs resources so bad cannot get a cd to burn complete....removed it and the cd burners works great every time
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,448
Hi.. you could run HJT log..link below.to see what maybe causing a problem..
Install in C:\ program file..let it scan..save logfile to notepad>edit>select all>edit>copy>paste on your thread..A log expert will check it out...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top