Why can I not open MeWe.com in my Firefox browser?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
69,833
Do you get a right-click (context) menu on pages that do seem to load normally, like the one we are using?

What operating system are you running?
 
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
6
Do you get a right-click (context) menu on pages that do seem to load normally, like the one we are using?

What operating system are you running?
I get right click menu normally. I work on websites and use the "Inspect" feature from there quite a bit. That seems to work on every page except MeWe. The right click doesn't bring up dialog box at all.

I am using Windows 10 Pro
Version 20H2
OS build 19042.985
Experience 120.2212.2020.0

Everything worked fine until a recent Firefox update. Don't remember if it was the most recent update or the one before. I check all my programs and update at least twice a month.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
69,833
I find not getting the popup context menu on the problem page very strange and a brief Google search did not come up with any recent mentions of any such problem.

Does doing a Crtl+u on the problem page show any source code? Here is what I get for it.

Code:
<!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en"><head><meta http-equiv="Content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"><title>MeWe - The Next-Gen Social Network</title><meta property="og:title" content="MeWe: The best chat & group app with privacy you trust."><meta property="og:description" content="Brilliant features with no BS. No Ads. No Spyware. MeWe is the Next-Gen Social Network."><meta name="description" content="Brilliant features with no BS. No Ads. No Spyware. MeWe is the Next-Gen Social Network."><meta property="og:image" content="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/app/logos/mewe-500-2.jpg"><meta content="app-id=918464474" name="apple-itunes-app"><link rel="mask-icon" href="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/home/mewe-logo-mask.svg" color="#303d4c"><link rel="shortcut icon" href="https://cdn.mewe.com/front//favicon.ico"><link rel="dns-prefetch" href="\\cdn.mewe.com"><link rel="dns-prefetch" href="\\img.mewe.com"><link rel="manifest" href="/manifest.json"><link rel="shortcut icon" href="/assets/favicon.ico"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="512x512" href="static/pwa/icon_512x512.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="384x384" href="static/pwa/icon_384x384.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="256x256" href="static/pwa/icon_256x256.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="192x192" href="static/pwa/icon_192x192.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="128x128" href="static/pwa/icon_128x128.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="96x96" href="static/pwa/icon_96x96.png"><meta name="apple-mobile-web-app-title" content="MeWe"><meta name="application-name" content="MeWe"><meta name="mobile-web-app-capable" content="yes"><link rel="apple-touch-icon-precomposed" href="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png"><meta property="og:type" content="website"><meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width,minimum-scale=1,maximum-scale=1,user-scalable=no"><script type="text/javascript">var _paq = window._paq || [];_paq.push(['trackPageView']);_paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']);(function() {var u="//secure.mewe.com/";_paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'uBk4jrxN.sec']);_paq.push(['setSiteId', '1']);var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];g.type='text/javascript'; g.async=true; g.defer=true; g.src=u+'uBk4jrxN.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s);})();</script></head><body><noscript><center><p>JavaScript is disabled</p><p>You need to enable JavaScript to use MeWe</p><p><a href="http://www.enable-javascript.com/" target="_blank">Show me how to enable it</a></p></center></noscript><script src="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/home.chunk-5d8dc665bb99bf609d9c.js"></script><script>if ('serviceWorker' in navigator) {
window.addEventListener('load', function() {
navigator.serviceWorker.register('/sw.chunk-5d8dc665bb99bf609d9c.js', { scope: '/', registrationStrategy: 'registerImmediately' });
});
      }</script><script>var ajax = new XMLHttpRequest();
ajax.open("GET", "/app/svg/generated/svg-icons.svg", true);
ajax.send();
ajax.onload = function(e) {
var div = document.createElement("div");
div.innerHTML = ajax.responseText;
document.body.insertBefore(div, document.body.childNodes[0]);
      }</script></body></html>
 
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
6
I find not getting the popup context menu on the problem page very strange and a brief Google search did not come up with any recent mentions of any such problem.

Does doing a Crtl+u on the problem page show any source code? Here is what I get for it.

Code:
<!DOCTYPE html><html lang="en"><head><meta http-equiv="Content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"><title>MeWe - The Next-Gen Social Network</title><meta property="og:title" content="MeWe: The best chat & group app with privacy you trust."><meta property="og:description" content="Brilliant features with no BS. No Ads. No Spyware. MeWe is the Next-Gen Social Network."><meta name="description" content="Brilliant features with no BS. No Ads. No Spyware. MeWe is the Next-Gen Social Network."><meta property="og:image" content="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/app/logos/mewe-500-2.jpg"><meta content="app-id=918464474" name="apple-itunes-app"><link rel="mask-icon" href="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/home/mewe-logo-mask.svg" color="#303d4c"><link rel="shortcut icon" href="https://cdn.mewe.com/front//favicon.ico"><link rel="dns-prefetch" href="\\cdn.mewe.com"><link rel="dns-prefetch" href="\\img.mewe.com"><link rel="manifest" href="/manifest.json"><link rel="shortcut icon" href="/assets/favicon.ico"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="512x512" href="static/pwa/icon_512x512.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="384x384" href="static/pwa/icon_384x384.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="256x256" href="static/pwa/icon_256x256.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="192x192" href="static/pwa/icon_192x192.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="128x128" href="static/pwa/icon_128x128.png"><link rel="apple-touch-icon" sizes="96x96" href="static/pwa/icon_96x96.png"><meta name="apple-mobile-web-app-title" content="MeWe"><meta name="application-name" content="MeWe"><meta name="mobile-web-app-capable" content="yes"><link rel="apple-touch-icon-precomposed" href="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png"><meta property="og:type" content="website"><meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width,minimum-scale=1,maximum-scale=1,user-scalable=no"><script type="text/javascript">var _paq = window._paq || [];_paq.push(['trackPageView']);_paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']);(function() {var u="//secure.mewe.com/";_paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'uBk4jrxN.sec']);_paq.push(['setSiteId', '1']);var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];g.type='text/javascript'; g.async=true; g.defer=true; g.src=u+'uBk4jrxN.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s);})();</script></head><body><noscript><center><p>JavaScript is disabled</p><p>You need to enable JavaScript to use MeWe</p><p><a href="http://www.enable-javascript.com/" target="_blank">Show me how to enable it</a></p></center></noscript><script src="https://cdn.mewe.com/front/home.chunk-5d8dc665bb99bf609d9c.js"></script><script>if ('serviceWorker' in navigator) {
window.addEventListener('load', function() {
navigator.serviceWorker.register('/sw.chunk-5d8dc665bb99bf609d9c.js', { scope: '/', registrationStrategy: 'registerImmediately' });
});
      }</script><script>var ajax = new XMLHttpRequest();
ajax.open("GET", "/app/svg/generated/svg-icons.svg", true);
ajax.send();
ajax.onload = function(e) {
var div = document.createElement("div");
div.innerHTML = ajax.responseText;
document.body.insertBefore(div, document.body.childNodes[0]);
      }</script></body></html>
I get nothing. It takes me to a completely blank page and the URL says:
Code:
view-source:about:blank
From a new tab, I get the popup menu and the ctrl-u. But there are frequently used items displayed on that page. The MeWe.com page just refuses to load.

MeWe loads fine on Google, Brave, and Edge on this same computer.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
69,833
MeWe loads fine on Google, Brave, and Edge on this same computer.
I would say that might eliminate a few possible causes such as a firewall or security software on the computer blocking the connection or the MeWe website blocking content based on your public IP address.

I don't know if Troubleshooting mode clears the cache. It might be worth a try to go to troubleshooting mode, open the page, and do a Shift + Reload button. If you have not tried it yet, opening the page in a private mode should eliminate the site from using any saved cookies to not load the correct page content.
 
Joined
May 24, 2021
Messages
6
I would say that might eliminate a few possible causes such as a firewall or security software on the computer blocking the connection or the MeWe website blocking content based on your public IP address.

I don't know if Troubleshooting mode clears the cache. It might be worth a try to go to troubleshooting mode, open the page, and do a Shift + Reload button. If you have not tried it yet, opening the page in a private mode should eliminate the site from using any saved cookies to not load the correct page content.
I cleared all the cache and I cleared MeWe cookies. MeWe still won't open either in troubleshooting or regular mode.

Interestingly enough, MeWe will open in private mode.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
69,833
I had only removed MeWe cookies.
Could it be that the site uses a third-party cookie that is not considered a tracking cookie and blocked by Firefox. Could the presence of that third-party cookie, but lack of the website's own cookies cause pages not to load? I believe that private browsing blocks access to all cookies created in non-private mode
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top