Why do i even have to do a Boot Disk 2 Reformat when i can just Run the CD?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hi!

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
355
Ok, i didn't have much room on the title to explain. Let's say i have a computer that is messed up and i have to reformat it so it'll run like new.. Ok i did the Boot Disk.. the F disk.. etc... but why? All i really have to do is just stick in the Windowx XP (will this also work with windows 98?) and it'll override and delete everything and starts brand new?


I'm confuse here? I try the Reformat stuff but it didn't turn out ok so i was like, screw this and just Stuck in the XP CD and it just override everything... am i missing something here????


thank you!!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
XP makes it easier to do that. Many 98 cds are bootable too. Some OEM cds are not, for example, Dells.
 

hi!

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
355
What is an OEM cd?? But back to Windows 98 so i can't just stick the Windows CD in so i have to do the Boot disk? (i want to learn this incase someone i know needs help on it)

ps. ACA i chicken out on the Lasik eye treatment.. I couldn't do it!! Is your eyes fine, it don't bother you or anything after all these years? I am reading the Kaplan book and it's great.. it's that i really slack off on the excerise's.. but i do notice a BIG improvement!!
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
All you need is the XP install disk. Same with Windows 2000.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
OEM (original equipment manufacturer). They are often missing files that make them bootable. Usually the Full install cd or upgrade cd from Microsfot are bootable. ME install cds should be bootable too.

Eyes are great! :) It'll be one year coming up in May.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
735
I didn't notice anyone mentioning this, but the reason that you can format and fdisk is so you can set up multiple partitions on a harddisk. which is good because if you have ever had to reinstall your OS, and everything sits on the same partiton, you have to backup everything. But if you have multiple partitions, eg. one partiton for your OS and one for your data, all you have to mess with is your OS partiton. BUT most people don't know about this or don't care to know about it, and that is why most distrobution cds are bootable and take care of everything for you...
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,050
You can setup a partition of any size you want from either xp or win2k. There is never a need for a win9x boot disk to setup either xp or win2k.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top