1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Why does 20gb hdd read 2gb with win98se

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brite750, Sep 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brite750

    brite750 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    Bought a 20gb Seagate HDD, it reads as only 2GB, whats the deal? Clone PC, 400AMD K-6-2, Tekram Mobo, 128MB ram, Win98SE. Let me know if you need more info.
     
  2. Jiggy

    Jiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Down to your FAT16, BIOS needs updating me thinks.
     
  3. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    When you formatted the drive, didn't you answer yes to the use LBA question.
     
  4. brite750

    brite750 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    Well, my son dl'd and installed the Win98se updates, and voila, (excuse the French) the 20gb magically appeared.
     
  5. Jiggy

    Jiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    BrianF question for you,

    If the drive was in FAT16 wouldnt that limit drive size?

    Because if he hadnt enabled LBA the drive would show as 504mb, right?
     
  6. brite750

    brite750 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    If the drive was in FAT16 wouldnt that limit drive size?

    Because if he hadnt enabled LBA the drive would show as 504mb, right?


    Drive shows as FAT32, What is LBA?
     
  7. Jiggy

    Jiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Logical Block Addressing, as long as both BIOS and harddrive support it, so when the computer boots up, the bios asks the drive if it can perform LBA if yes the bios and drive work together to change the way they talk to each other.
     
  8. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    my bad, was thinking of win95, sorry
     
  9. Jiggy

    Jiggy

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Try this,

    Get a DOS up from in win98 or boot with 98 boot disk and type in fdisk then choose option 4 show drive info (somthing like that) and it will tell you the size of your primary drive C:
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166423

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice