1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Why doesn't my ds connect to wifi?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Legended, Jun 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Legended

    Legended Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Why doesn't my ds connect to wifi? Help me!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    try logging into the router and removing any wireless security - and then try the DS again - if that works - put the wireless security back on in the router and ake sure you know the password - remember capital I and little L look the same Il
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    DS uses WEP, so if your wifi is WPA, it will not work. If your router has a Guest Network, set that to WEP instead.
     
  4. Legended

    Legended Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thx it helped
     
  5. Legended

    Legended Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    How do you create a WEP for wifi.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    i have merged your threads and also moved to networking forum

    You need to log into the wireless router and goto the wireless section and change the wireless security to use WEP
     
  7. Legended

    Legended Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Will it make the internet slower!
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    no it will not
     
  9. Legended

    Legended Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    how do i find the wireless router log in
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    make and model of the router
    post an ipconfig /all from a working PC


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Legended

    Legended Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    confusing ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    where are you confused

    we need to know the make and exact model of the router to explain how to change the wireless security

    and the ipconfig /all will help as well - which part of the instructions are you unable to follow exactly
     
  13. BlooChoo

    BlooChoo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    click start, then copy and paste ipconfig /all into run. post the results on this forum:)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058860