1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Why is my Compaq so slow?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Robert1, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Robert1

    Robert1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    185
    I have a Compaq Presario R3000 (R3210CA)

    This machine is terribly slow. I note the hard drive seems to be continually 'busy'. Just opening up menu screens seems to tax it. So I'm sure something is not right.

    Would anyone have any ideas as to the problem? It has been like this since I bought it a year or two ago.

    Thank you,
    Robert
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,252
    Please do this:

    · Click here to download HJTsetup.exe
    · Save HJTsetup.exe to your desktop.
    · Doubleclick on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
    · By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Hijack This.
    · Continue to click Next in the setup dialogue boxes until you get to the Select Additional Tasks dialogue.
    · Put a check by Create a desktop icon then click Next again.
    · Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
    · At the final dialogue box click Finish and it will launch Hijack This.
    · Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
    · Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
    · Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
    · DO NOT have Hijack This fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.

    If it looks like you need malware assistance I'll get a mod to move you to the security forum; if not, we can troubleshoot from there.
     
  3. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    256Mb RAM, I would expect it to be slow, especially online. Add at least another 256.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,252
    valid point as well, depending on the OS. If he's running 2k, he's cool with 256. XP, he may want to upgrade to 512. Still want to see the hjt log, though.
     
  5. VTfletch

    VTfletch

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    I have an old Campaq Presario, cant remember model number but its an 800 mhz machine with 384mb of RAM and its fairly quick, not screaming or anything. Some suggestions that might get you a little extra speed would be as follows.

    1) Run Disk Defragmenter: its normally located in the accessories folder in the start menu somewhere probably under system tools. Keep running it until it looks better, you will know what I mean when you see it.

    2) Uninstall ALL programs you dont use: Windows runs better when there is some open hard drive.

    3) If you think you know what you are doing clean up any running processes that you dont use. If you dont know what you are doing hit ctrl + alt + del and look under processes. Type up the names of the processes so we can see if anything doesnt need to be running.

    The other guys have very good points try them too.
     
  6. Robert1

    Robert1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    185
    Thanks guys: the computer is running XP and does indeed have only 256k of memory. HD is 79% free (maybe even more after the defrag) and I will also check under processes to try to see if something else is going on. But I think XPSP2 has the answer: I will take the machine out and have another 256k added. That should do a lot for it.
     
  7. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
    Like the racers say "There is no replacement for displacement."
     
  8. Robert1

    Robert1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    185
    Kudos to XPSP2 who had the correct answer to the problem! I finally got the 512 MB stick I ordered a week ago and installed it today - the speed of the machine increased dramatically. It is at least twice as fast: perhaps as much as 5 times!

    By the way: I didn't need to take the machine out to have the memory installed. I found out all I needed was a small Phillips screwdriver to remove a back plate. The memory stick popped into the empty slot easily.

    Thanks guys for your help!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538227

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice