1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Why we use DNS ?

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Balas, Jun 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Balas

    Balas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi all,

    We are running a small company with strength of 40 members. Users using laptops and also desktops.Laptop users connect using WiFi and desktop users via LAN. All desktops running with Windows XP Sp3 and Laptops with Windows 7 professional. Do we really need a DNS server to maintain the computers? In future along with company growth user strength also will increase. So is there is any way that we can control and monitor users through a centralized point ? also need to monitor the Internet usage? how its possible and what all we required to do so ?
    Additionally what all things we can introduce to secure the network?

    Please reply to this post ASAP.
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    If you are in a Windows Active Directory environment then DNS is required!
     
  3. Balas

    Balas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    But we don't have any Active Directory service.Can you please explain me the use of Active directory ?
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,499
    this sounds like a picture perfect reason to set up a domain.........xxxxxxx.com or whatever. Then you can set up your network to allow for company and employee growth.

    'explaining the use of active directory' is sort of like asking someone to explain the internet. hundreds of books have been written on it......

    just out of curiousity, are you the person who is going to be handling the upgrade?
     
  5. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,271
    I know Windows Pro only allows 10 concurrent connections so I can probably assume you have about 10 different users sharing files, printers etc. That is an administrative and security nightmare. With a server running Active Directory you can centralize all the resources on the server (a lot easier to backup), control who has access to what, and not have to worry about users storing valuable data on workstations. With the domain (active directory) everything is centralized. You can install software from the server, monitor workstations, and manage windows updates.
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    And with that response I suggest you find a local IT shop to give you the information you need. This is not something an unqualified person can setup on their own.
     
  7. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,499
    Totally agree. It's like asking you to build a formula 1 car.........far more things that can go wrong than can go right.
     
  8. techniquev3

    techniquev3

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    You need a DNS server and a decent network by the sounds of it.
     
  9. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I think they just need a decent Network Administrator. Everything else will take care of itself.
     
  10. techniquev3

    techniquev3

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Fair point :)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1058615