1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Why won't links I click on open in a new window??

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by kinks77, Sep 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kinks77

    kinks77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Every time I click on a new link, unless it "replaces" the current page, it will not open a new window. Surfing the net with only one window is frustrating!!

    PLEASE HELP!!

    (By the way....I have Windows 98)
     
  2. EvileYe

    EvileYe

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,281
    Try This,
    Go into the control panel and double click Internet Options. When the Internet properties box is open select advanced and then scroll down and make sure "Reuse windows for launching shortcuts" is NOT ticked.

    EvileYe.
     
  3. AbvAvgUser

    AbvAvgUser

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,281
    In Internet Explorer you can keep the Shift Key pressed while you click on a link. That will open it in a new window. You can also right click on a link and select "Open in New Window".

    Alternatively, switch over to a browser with tabs. Like Netscape 7 or Mozilla. I am very happy with Netscape 7 browser. Although the mail client is pathetic and comes nowhere near Outlook Express in terms of looks, features and ease of use.
     
  4. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
  5. sallellen

    sallellen

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    I had the same problem and this is what I found in this forum and it worked for me:
    Go to Start/run, and type SFC. Choose 'Extract One File From Installation Disk'. Type oleaut32.dll, not worrying about its location.
    Then, click Start.
     
  6. newkid

    newkid

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    I have been having this same problem for a month now. I couldn't find a solution. This is what I do: I click the link and then click on stop and then i click on refresh. This works for me.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166088

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice