1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wi-Fi connected, no internet access. Other devices work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by coulomb-barr, Oct 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Hello,

    I have moved into a new apartment and my laptop connects to the wi-fi network but there is no internet access. The apartment is on a school if that makes a difference, I'm not using a home router. My Mac, tablet, phone etc all connect to the same network without any issues. The connection to the network works fine via an ethernet cable but I no longer have access to the port to connect this way.

    I have tried going to cmd prompt to type:
    "ipconfig/release" and then "ipconfig/renew" to no avail.

    I have also tried the following commands with no resolution to the problem:
    ipconfig/flushdns
    nbtstat -R
    nbtstat -RR
    netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
    netsh winsock reset

    I have uninstalled my third-party firewall and tried selective start-up and no dice there either. I have also made sure that the IP and DNS address are obtained automatically.

    Anything I can post here so someone can identify the problem please?

    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,847
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all
    also redo the tcp/ip reset - see below

    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)[/indent]

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​


    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen )​

    For Windows 8 & 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menuu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Michael>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Michael-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : farringtons.local

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : farringtons.local
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7C-E9-D3-37-35-EA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::94a0:e074:635d:9c94%19(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.40.41(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 17 October 2015 13:29:58
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 October 2015 15:01:40
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.40.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.1.106
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 209512915
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-D1-12-56-DC-0E-A1-59-47-8A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.1.106
    172.16.1.129
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Windows Adapter V9
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-01-F5-1C-50
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::81c1:29d3:6ad8:d49b%18(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.212.155(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 553713409
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-D1-12-56-DC-0E-A1-59-47-8A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : FARRINGTONS.LOCAL
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : DC-0E-A1-59-47-8A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.farringtons.local:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : farringtons.local
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{01F51C50-9B87-46DF-98EF-94CD213CDB27}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Michael>^A
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,847
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you seem to have an IP OK on the wireless

    can you connect by cable and post the ipconfig /all - just to check the ipconfig /all when it is actually working

    also when just connected to the wireless please do the following

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    PING & tracert tests

    We would like to see the results from the following Ping Tests - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    echo > 0 & PING 172.16.40.1>> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for your help.

    Sorry but I can't post ipconfig/all when connected via ethernet as the ethernet port has been blocked/turned off (long story) so I can not get access via ethernet cable either.

    I copied and pasted that command prompt: echo > 0 & PING 172.16.40.1>> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0

    But I am not getting anything after pressing Enter, just the text above stays on screen with the cursor flashing beneath it?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,847
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping 172.16.40.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 98.139.183.24
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste



    if you see on the results a
    "general Failure"
    This sometimes means a firewall issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Michael>Ping 172.16.40.1

    Pinging 172.16.40.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 172.16.40.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Michael>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [216.58.209.238] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 216.58.209.238:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Michael>Ping 98.139.183.24

    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Michael>
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,847
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an IP from another working device

    ifconfig for a mac
     
  9. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Yes, I'm communicating to you through my Mac. How do I do ipconfig on OS X?
     
  10. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Last login: Sat Oct 17 11:35:30 on console

    Kates-MacBook-Pro:~ kate$ ifconfig -a

    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384

    options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>

    inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128

    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000

    inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1

    nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>

    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280

    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280

    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500

    ether 78:31:c1:bd:f5:80

    inet6 fe80::7a31:c1ff:febd:f580%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4

    inet 172.16.40.36 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.40.255

    nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>

    media: autoselect

    status: active

    en1: flags=963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX> mtu 1500

    options=60<TSO4,TSO6>

    ether 72:00:02:2b:62:10

    media: autoselect <full-duplex>

    status: inactive

    en2: flags=963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX> mtu 1500

    options=60<TSO4,TSO6>

    ether 72:00:02:2b:62:11

    media: autoselect <full-duplex>

    status: inactive

    p2p0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 2304

    ether 0a:31:c1:bd:f5:80

    media: autoselect

    status: inactive

    bridge0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500

    options=63<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,TSO4,TSO6>

    ether 7a:31:c1:db:df:00

    Configuration:

    id 0:0:0:0:0:0 priority 0 hellotime 0 fwddelay 0

    maxage 0 holdcnt 0 proto stp maxaddr 100 timeout 1200

    root id 0:0:0:0:0:0 priority 0 ifcost 0 port 0

    ipfilter disabled flags 0x2

    member: en1 flags=3<LEARNING,DISCOVER>

    ifmaxaddr 0 port 5 priority 0 path cost 0

    member: en2 flags=3<LEARNING,DISCOVER>

    ifmaxaddr 0 port 6 priority 0 path cost 0

    nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>

    media: <unknown type>

    status: inactive

    awdl0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1484

    ether 62:fc:6d:13:41:1c

    inet6 fe80::60fc:6dff:fe13:411c%awdl0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x9

    nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>

    media: autoselect

    status: active

    Kates-MacBook-Pro:~ kate$
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,633
    First Name:
    Terry
    What firewall was that?

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,847
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Commodo internet firewall.

    I will try updating the wireless driver. Presumably, doing this through a USB stick is the best option?
     
  14. coulomb-barr

    coulomb-barr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Last login: Sat Oct 17 15:23:03 on ttys000

    Kates-MacBook-Pro:~ kate$ ifconfig | grep "inet " | grep -v 127.0.0.1

    inet 172.16.40.36 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.40.255

    Kates-MacBook-Pro:~ kate$

    Is that what you need to see?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,633
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes. :)

    Probably good to run the Comodo Removal Tool.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1158129

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice