1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wife still can't start word 2003 right but I can

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Tom Seeley, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tom Seeley

Tom Seeley Thread Starter

I'm still having trouble making MS Word 2003 start properly when my wife logs onto our home computer as a limited user. I'm an administrator, and it starts properly when I click on the shortcut. But when she clicks on it (or I do, having logged on as her, with myself logged out), it pops up a Windows Installer window that says "preparing to install". After a few seconds, that window grays itself out, and then after a few more seconds it disappears completely, and we have a clean desktop. The pointer is the usual arrow, not an hourglass. It will stay that way for two minutes (I timed it!) until eventually Word will start and show the usual first screen. AFter that, it works fine, but that can't be how it's supposed to work!

I used control panel/remove to completely remove MS Office 2003 and then did a complete new "typical" install, with myself logged on as administrator, and with her logged off. No help...

Any suggestions?

Also, no offense intended but could someone pls give me the URL for the MS Office support message boards? Or microsoft in general? I tried their home page and all I got was a bunch of self-help KB docs which didn't help. I've used support forums before, but I never bookmarked them and I can't find them. Google didn't help, either.

Thx:(

2. johnni

johnni

3. Tom Seeley

Thx Johnni, but I don't have a file on my machine anywhere called gpedit.msc. I searched for gpedit.* and came up blank.

I ran mmc.exe but none of the screens or titles Blink182's message to you were there.