1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wife unable to log into PC

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by jb59, May 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jb59

jb59 Thread Starter

My wife's desktop pc runs Windows 8.1. She attempted to boot this systems into safe mode in order to run a rare virus scan in this mode. Somehow, (I'm not sure just how), she forgot her account.live password. When she clicked the "forgot password link" and had a code sent to her cell phone, we discovered that her Dell Inspiron one 2020 lost its internet connection. I have a laptop (on this same network) but it runs WIndows 7 and I have no experience having to log into account.live, each time I want to log onto my computer. And I am accessing the internet just fine as I type this dilemma.

Prior to this problem, I was unaware that even she had to log into account.live each time either.

Long story short, can anyone recommend how she can unlock her pc as resetting her password via an alternate measure allowed by Microsoft - does not work.

Thanks very much for any assistance with this.

Joe

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    I assume you have a router. How is her PC attempting to connect to it? If by Wi-Fi, try ethernet.

3. jb59

jb59 Thread Starter

Yes- WiFi

I'm not sure how to do this without logging into the pc

4. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Because the ethernet connection is disabled? That would be a serious block.

This is just one of the minor reasons I refuse to use an email account for a computer account login.

5. jb59

jb59 Thread Starter

Yes. I'm not sure how to rectify the internet problem unless I log in (which I can't do).