wifi adaptor not recognized, usb wifi hogging wifi resources

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

yamakazee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
6
recently i was having major computer issues on my desktop, i did a full restore to factory settings and after doing a few windows updates i found that my network adaptor was not finding any signals. it does not show up in the change adaptor settings page or in the device manager page. when i troubleshoot my internet connection it says an ethernet cable is not properly plugged in. I have a desktop computer but it definately has a wireless network card. i used to get windows updates for it and it just stopped working one day. when i look in the BIOS the only option related to booting a network card is B03 D00 Yukon PXE. no matter when i boot it i still dont get wireless signals. when i go into the boot menu and try to boot this device it says " PXE E61: media test failure please check cable" i have opened the tower and the card is securely in its slot. i thought i would workaround by getting a usb wifi card. I installed it and connected to the internet and it alternated between having a connection to the internet and being connected to the network but not the internet. even when it is connected to the internet i cannot reach any web pages. my dropbox desktop files update very slowly (7kb/s). when i am connected with the usb card the network stops working for everyone else in the house. they can no longer reach web pages or continue downloads. please help.

gateway DX4300
AMD Phenom II X4 810 processor 2.60 GHz
8.00 GB DDRII RAM
windows 7 home premium

EDIT: additionally nothing shows up when i scan with avast antivirus
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
as you have reset to factor condition, its possible that you need the drivers for the hardware devices on the pc

Remove the USB wireless adapter and now
can we see a device manager screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager

Please Post back the results in device manager as requested below

You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

If the above does not work then

For Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window.

For windows Vista or Windows 7
you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
theres no wireless being seen by windows on that PC

and you say it does have a wireless adapter in the desktop. can you confirm it worked on wireless before you re-formatted
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
i have opened the tower and the card is securely in its slot.
Did you remove and replace it (to fix any potential corrosion of the contacts)?
 

yamakazee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
6
it did work after i reformatted, i connected it to the internet by sharing the wireless connection on my laptop and sending it through an ethernet cable. i got a windows update that included an update for the wireless card. the wireless worked and then i did another update and i got another update for the wireless card, i restarted and the wireless stopped working.

i did not remove the card but it did work at one point after the restore so i dont see why that would be necessary

EDIT: I misread, it worked for about 2 years before i reformatted as well
 

yamakazee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
6
i restored my computer and found that the adaptor wasnt working or in device manager, i opened the computer, disconnected the wifi card and reconnected. i put it all back together and this time it found the card and it worked, i tried to connect to a network and it repeatedly said it couldnt. the computer came with 2 antenna which the computer needed to connect to the internet when i first got it, i plugged the first in and it was fine, i plugged the second one in and tried to connect to a network, this time the device turned off and didnt turn back on, i went into device manager and found this (see images). what do i do?
 

Attachments

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
A Code 10 error is generated when Device Manager can't start the hardware device, a situation usually caused by outdated, corrupted drivers.
It maybe a faulty wireless card

i opened the computer, disconnected the wifi card and reconnected.
did you actually remove the card completely

i plugged the first in and it was fine, i plugged the second one in
does the unit have two separate connectors for both these aerials ?
usually you would have both connected.

i got a windows update that included an update for the wireless card. the wireless worked and then i did another update and i got another update for the wireless card, i restarted and the wireless stopped working.
have you actually re-installed the wireless driver

when you purchased the PC - did it come with the wireless adapter - or did you purchase separate ?
teh spec does not include a wireless card
http://support.gateway.com/s/desktop/2009/gateway/dx/dx4300/DX4300sp2.shtml

if purchased separately - what was the manufacturers make and model
I can only see a RTL8190-GR
 

yamakazee

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
6
i completely removed the card, it has 2 seperate connections, when the driver downloaded it also installed through windows update. the card came with the computer, a lot of the parts in the computer appear to not have brand names, the wifi card included unless that realtek tag in the second picture means it was made by realtek
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
if the card came with the pc - whats the make and exact model of the PC
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
they have two drivers here
http://support.gateway.com/us/en/product/default.aspx?tab=1&modelId=2283

The Wireless LAN Driver Pro-Nets 6.1061.0926.2008 261.9 KB 07/02/2010
shows as a
;; Realtek RTL8190 802.11n PCI/Cardbus Wireless LAN Network Interface Cards.

is the one you want to use
download and install that driver


> Start Globe
> Control Panel
> System and maintenance
> Scroll down to Device manager
> network adaptors, click on the + >
> Right click on the wireless Adapter
> click on Update Driver Software...
> click on Browse my computer for driver software
> let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
> Have Disk
> click on the Button Browse...
> Locate the folder you extracted the zip folder and highlight the .inf file
you should see two files with .inf
net180p.inf
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top