1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wifi connected but not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by okeee, Mar 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. okeee

    okeee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    a couple of days ago, wifi stopped working. this was right after it showed a sudden boost in connection quality (from average to good). i didnt change anything, it just stopped suddenly. but on the device wifi is shown as connected, and good connection quality, but internet is not working though. sometimes it works after reconnecting, but only shortly, 1-30 min.

    what i already tried:
    * changing channels, every channel on 2,4 ghz
    * using 5ghz instead of 2,4ghz
    * using wifi on other devices
    * i checked with neighbours for interfering cables or devices but they didnt have any new equipment
    * reconnecting power cable from modem
    * there are no interrupting devices nearby like babyfoons
    * using wifi very close to modem
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    and they work all OK - correct
    its just the one PC

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    ( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )

    Use the links below

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. okeee

    okeee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    no its a mobile device, and i have tested with other mobile devices, they also didnt recieve internet. I should add: cable internet is working good, and neighbours use the same isp but they have no problems.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do any devices work on your connection - if so how are they connected wireless or cable?
     
  5. okeee

    okeee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    only wifi doesnt work, on any device (mobile/tablet). cable internet works ok on pc's.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a PC with enabled wifi

    Remove the wireless security
    Is your wireless security enabled?
    if so - log into the router and remove the wireless security - now see if it will connect.
    if it does - log back into the router and try with the wireless security enabled again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes. We have found in some instances you need to wait at least 15 minutes
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a separate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. okeee

    okeee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    pc is not enabled to wifi.

    i checked the modem settings, not sure about the security settings or what to look for:

    Automatic Security Configuration
    WPS Config State: Configured

    but devices are sometimes able to connect, but for a short period of time.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the make and exact model of the modem/router
     
  9. okeee

    okeee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Ubee EVW 3200 Wi-Fi modem, from the isp.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,960
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. okeee

    okeee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    this is the model: Ubee EVW320b Wi-Fi modem
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1121578

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice