Wifi connected, but not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rummage99

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
4
The wifi in my condo building is working fine. I can connect, send and receive emails but I cannot get any websites. I have tried all the suggested solutions I can find on the internet but nothing has corrected the problem, Having exhausted all options I am now in total despair. I am using an Asus laptop.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
Did you post here using the condo's internet service? If so, with a different computer?

If the Asus laptop is running Windows ...

Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.
(In Windows 10 you may have to use some other procedure to get a Command Prompt window.)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

[Press ENTER after the command.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

rummage99

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
4
Thanks for the reply Terry.
I followed your suggested resolution to my problem. However, right clicking in the command window failed to open any options, so from that point I could go now further. My frustration is immeasurable. I am accessing the internet by hot spotting form my mobile phone which is not ideal.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
However, right clicking in the command window failed to open any options,
I've never encountered that before, and have no idea what is wrong. What version of Windows? Did you make a second attempt?
 

rummage99

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
4
I am using windows 10. I tried following your instructions 3 times, but to no avail.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
Since it's Windows 10 I'll bow out now. Are you sure that you are accessing the Command Prompt and not PowerShell?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,076
The right-click should work but try this instead - do the IPCONFIG /ALL as before then as soon as it finishes press Ctrl+A which should turn the text to black on white, then press Enter, now you can use Ctrl+V to paste the text into your reply.
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,537
In the Command Prompt window, type, without quotation marks, "ipconfig /all >cfg.txt"
That should create a file name called cfg.txt which has all the pertinent IP information. Then you should be able to open that file and copy and paste the info. If not, then just upload the entire file.

Note: THere's a space after Ipconfig and another after /all. However, no space after ">"
 
Last edited:

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,537
Exactly which error, if any, do you get when trying to connect to a website? Which browser(s)? Did you check to make sure no proxy server is configured?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,998
Since it's Windows 10 I'll bow out now. Are you sure that you are accessing the Command Prompt and not PowerShell?
In newer versions of Windows 10 Command Prompt, right click is now paste. At least it is for me. Now to highlight you simply left click hold and drag the mouse like you would in a document, then press enter. Or CTRL+A as mentioned then Enter.

Rummage, to add to the troubleshooting steps, while on the condo connection try going to 199.181.132.250 in the address bar in your browser and see if you can access abc.com via the IP address.

Also while on the condo connection do this in command prompt (note it may not look like anything is happening, this is normal):

ping abc.com > pingtest.txt
ping 199.181.132.250 >> pingtest.txt
nslookup abc.com >> pingtest.txt
tracert abc.com >> pingtest.txt
pingtext.txt

the last one should open the file in notepad for you to copy and paste.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top