1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WiFi Connecting to Phone but not to Laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Pinter, Mar 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pinter

    Pinter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    I have a router which I just reconfigured and set up. I had to reboot it because it decided to stop working recently (used to work fine on all wireless devices before)and now it connects to my phone OK but not to the laptop. Error msg says unable to connect to WiFi network and eventually troubleshooting shows two error messages:
    Network cable not properly plugged in or broken (have checked and this does not seem to be the issue)
    Problem with wireless adapter or access point
    I need halps what do I do
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,589
    First Name:
    James
    Make sure your computer sees the wireless connection and reconnect to it. If it sees it but does not connect you will need to remove the wireless profile.

    What operating system are you using?
     
  3. Pinter

    Pinter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    It does see it. It asks for the password, starts connecting and then says unable to connect
    Am using windows 7
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,077
    First Name:
    David
    Are you using the correct password?
    Remember that you reconfigured the router, did you use the old password?
     
  5. Pinter

    Pinter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, I did, unfortunately :(
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,077
    First Name:
    David
    Can you post screen shots of this error message about not connecting?

    When you reconfigured the router, did you also use the same network name?

    What other networks are listed in the available WiFi list?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1168184

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice