1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wifi extender?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gorper99, Jun 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gorper99

    gorper99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    515
    I have the main computer and Netgear 600 router in the basement.I have a Samsung tv in upstairs bedroom.2 floors up from basement.I will be hooking up a Roku Player.I get a week signal on my laptop in upstairs bedroom.Would I be better off with a more powerfull router or a range extender?
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,466
    If I were you, I would go with the range extender. They're designed to clean up and boost the signal, so it would be a case of trial & error to see where the placement would maximise your signal.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    another alternative maybe to user powerline adapters - these use the electrical house wiring
    you can get them so that the receiver in your upstairs room has 3 LAN ports and provides wireless. They also come in passthrough, so you do not lose the use of the electrical sockets.
    The quality of the signal will depend on the age of the internal wiring , but i have had good results with them
     
    lochlomonder likes this.
  4. gorper99

    gorper99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    515
    I have the Roku hooked up and one minute it says signal is good and an hour later signal is poor.Advice please.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a windows laptop with wireless ? if so , put that next to the roku and run xirrus

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC
    You will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC
    Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply​

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo to be used )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below
    Do NOT use any of the download managers offered - Cnet , just use the direct link below - and click on the download button
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector.shtml
    http://download.cnet.com/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector/3000-18508_4-75758254.html


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    Stand alone version of.net framework https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=49981
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    https://www.xirrus.com/free-tools/

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8 & 10
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool
    (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, or windows 10 Search, type "snip" and press enter)
    (From windows 10 - All Apps>Windows Accessories>Snipping Tool
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. gorper99

    gorper99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    515
    hould the Extender be on the floor where the player is or on the main floor(Between the wifi router and player?)
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it should be between the main router and the area you want to cover , and have a signal of around -55dBm

    so the repeater has a good signal to pick up and re-transmit

    as far as location of the repeater , that will depend on how it transmits the signal and what effect having on the floor effects the range

    If the signal is very poor near the player, then it will also be poor for the repeater and so may not work
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1172676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice