WiFi isn't working on my PC but its working on my laptop?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

danielohmydang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
4
Today, while surfing the web my internet connection on my PC just randomly shuts off. I go check on my laptop and its normal. My WiFi says that I am connected to an Unidentified network with no internet access. So i got frustrated and checked all the forums and nothing seemed to work. So i restored my computer to factory settings and I still got this problem. Does this mean my Wifi Card is bad? Is it a virus? as you can tell i'm not too computer savvy. I can see other networks fine but i just cant connect to mine! If anyone knows any solutions please help
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,638
Can you connect successfully by ethernet?

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.

Identify your network, and also show ...

Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.


Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

danielohmydang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
4
so here it its. I have attached the screenshot as well. Thank you for your concern and help. greatly appreciated!

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Daniel>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Daniel-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless
Network Module
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-82-55-C2-75
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2cab:f6f2:10ad:45b9%12(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.69.185(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201336450
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-69-B1-96-F4-CE-46-2E-7C-97

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sgt.cpqcorp.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F4-CE-46-2E-7C-97
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{4FAB951C-9F2A-41AC-97D4-16A630A5FCB2}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
DO NOT uncheck IPv6. It will accomplish nothing and will affect your present or future connectivity.

Please ignore the previous post and follow the advice from TerryNet. "Shotgun" approaches to problems are rarely successful and are not taylored to the problem at hand.
 

danielohmydang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
4
this is too confusing, everything was fine and a few seconds later the wireless just shut off. ive been looking online and ive tried many solutions with no avail. Do you think it could be my hardware?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Do you have anything in the house that could interfere? Wireless cameras, phone equipment, other wireless devices?

Is something using a lot of CPU in your Task Manager?
 

danielohmydang

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
4
I am using my cellphone that is connected to the router, I also have a laptop connected. Everything but the PC seems to be fine. As I said before, i restored my computer to factory settings as a final solution. Even then it still wont connect. That is what led me to believe that there is something wrong with my wireless card. I have not changed the settings before today
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,638
All those network signals are too weak for a reliable connection. Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site (because it may be only a driver issue).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top