1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wifi "No internet access" on laptop, other devices OK

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nick Toeman, Jul 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nick Toeman

    Nick Toeman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Hi all,
    I have a rather perplexing problem with internet access from my laptop (Win 7 Home Premium, Avast Free). My property is a large building with thick, granite walls so I've added 3 hard-wired, wireless access points (2 recycled, old routers and a TP-Link WAP) in various locations back to the main router (BT Homehub 3), served by up-to 8Mbps BT broadband service (I typically get 6Mbps - no fibre-broadband available here!) Just to complicate things a little more, this is a holiday property with 4 other families staying, so bandwidth use is a little difficult to control.
    Mostly, everyone has been fine: my Android phone, my Nexus tablet and my wife's iPad plus other visitors' various devices all connect via wifi from any of the access points. (Everyone had problems this morning but I think BT may have been doing something with the exchange overnight so I'm going to assume, for now, it's just my laptop that's having problems).
    OK, the laptop will connect to any access point, including the main router, but generally states "No internet access" from there. I say "generally" because it has done on past visits to the property and sometimes connects briefly - usually if I reset, disconnect or unplug something. Also, I CAN connect the laptop via Ethernet from any point.
    Can someone outline a process I can try to identify and fix the laptop please? If problems recur with other kit I may need help with my local network too.
    Thanks,
    Nick
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    The process I would follow
    1) if it works on the LAN at all points
    then i would goto the main router and make sure it works on LAN there
    then i would try and connect to the main router wireless
    if that does not work
    then
    and adapter issue - or something blocking

    so I would first remove any firewalls trial or otherwise and use the removal tools to do that
    then i would try safemode with networking
    then i would do a tcp/ip reset
    then i would check using xirrus - what channel the router is on and what signal strength i get
    then a sfc /scannow
    then a chkdsk

    2) if LAN is not working , then i would do some of the above until i get the LAN working

    if you look for any of my posts - you will find all the instructions on other posts - rather than make this a huge post
    otherwise if you are onsite now
    you can try things out and post back - i'm around on/off all day today UK time
    and other from the US will be around later today
     
  3. Nick Toeman

    Nick Toeman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Thanks Etaf for a very prompt reply. It does work from the LAN at the router, and from the furthest WAP (via LAN). The laptop doesn't work via wifi at the router but my tablet and phone do (similarly for BT-Fon which I assume is actually supplied by own my router).
    The sunshine here at Sennen (near Lands End in Cornwall) is so glorious that I shall get in the sea, now, and try your process later, probably tonight. Some things are even more important that the Web (especially a wife's impatience when her husband is wasting precious fun time on trivial technology!)
    Nick
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ok Nick - enjoy

    next I would run xirrus on the pc - just in case the wireless is not seen , it maybe on channel 12/13 which is not support by some US hardware and in UK 12/13 is OK - seen this very often
    if you have another working PC - use xirrus on that to check the channel in use - if it is on 12/13 - log into the BT hub and change to use 1-11
    I suspect with 3 wireless signals the channel is not the issue - but looking at the obvious things first

    post an xirrus screen shot from the faulty pc

    and do a tcp/ip reset


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    ( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )

    Use the links below

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Nick Toeman

    Nick Toeman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    OK Etaf,
    I'm back from the beach. It's still too hot to sit indoors so will make a start on the daunting-looking procedure you suggest later. In the meantime, these screenshots might interest you.
    First, info about the WAPs: BishopRock1 is a few feet from my PC, it's on channel 4; Longships2 is the other side of a 2-foot-thick granite wall, it's on channel 3; Sevenstones is further still and beyond another wall, it's on channel 2; the main router is out of range, it's on channel 1.
    wifi 1: I think I left the PC connected to Sevenstones, it is connected OK but the signal is very weak.
    wifi 2: disconnected from Sevenstones & connected to BishopRock1 (no internet access).
    wifi 3: disconnected from BishopRock 1 & connected to Longships2 - connected OK but weak signal.
    wifi 4: disconnected Longships2 & re-connected to BishopRock1 - connected OK!
    wifi 5: taken seconds after wifi 4 - lost internet access from BishopRock1
    Further notes: the LAN was connected throughout this sequence; I had similar problems this morning when I tested close to the main router i.e. only brief internet access via the router, other WAPs weak.
    Can I shorten the procedure you suggested?
    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you try the tcp/ip reset

    try - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )

    For other windows version, XP,Vista, W7 as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    would you expect such a low signal on the AP you mentioned
    maybe try

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try reseating the wireless adapter

    If the adapter is easily accessible, usually through a cover on the bottom of the laptop.
    Remove and reinsert carefully and firmly several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion.
    At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are securely attached.
    Note: This is not taking the machine apart. We do not recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Nick Toeman

    Nick Toeman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    OK, I'll see how far I can get with what you've suggested. There is no simple access to the wireless adapter inside the laptop. The AP signals are fine, very good when there's no thick wall in the way, not much use if there is.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    When/if you post the Xirrus screen shot please also show ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  9. Nick Toeman

    Nick Toeman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    I've made a start on the process but I may have made things worse!
    First I searched how to do TCP/IP reset and found MicroSoft 'Fix It for me', which looked like a great idea! That lost me all wifi - see wifi 6 (3Connect refers to a 3G dongle, which I no longer have). Since Fix It makes a restore point I rolled back but that made no difference.
    Next I tried Safe Mode with Networking - see wifi 7, still no wifi. I plugged the LAN back in - see wifi 8, it now says connected to Sevenstones but actually I'm physically connected to BishopRock1 (Sevenstones is 30 foot and 2 granite walls away on a different CAT5 cable to the ethernet switch by the main router).
    Can't do any more tonight. Should I continue tomorrow with Xirrus or try a manual TCP/IP reset next or ...?
    Nick
    (I don't have another PC here but can respond with LAN connected.)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Post # 4 has the instructions for the TCP/IP stack repairs and posting an Xirrux screen shot. Post # 8 details posting results of ipconfig /all--for the (attempted) Wi-Fi connection. We cannot guarantee a fix when we get that info, but without we are simply wandering around in the dark.
     
  11. Nick Toeman

    Nick Toeman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Thank you TerryNet and Etaf for your advice so far.
    This morning my wifi is working perfectly so maybe the MS FixIt thingy worked after all. I followed the instructions, including a restart, last night so don't know why it should be fine today (also I did a System Restore after FixIt seemed to have failed)!
    I have your instructions for further analysis if it's needed. I may be interested to understand this aspect of networking better anyway so may try Xirrux later. However, the sun's shining brilliantly again so the sea takes priority for now. I shall leave my PC connected and see if it remains stable.
    Thank you so much for your prompt and helpful suggestions I may well need to return to them or seek more help.
    Regards,
    Nick
    (www.carntowan.com - in case you're interested in sunny Cornwall!)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1129995

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice