1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wifi not working..

Discussion in 'Networking' started by JAYNO20, Dec 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    on my dell laptop not even 4 months old my wifi is being weird... when i start the computer up the little wifi LED comes on indicating that theres wifi near, so i click on windows wifi manager and it shows me all the available networks, but it wont connect to any of them, not even my preferred ones. Could i have disabled something?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    are these wireless networks yours - have you connected before OK
    are they secure wireless networks ?
     
  3. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    yes they are mine, yes i've connected before with no problem, and yes they are secured with my own password.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    have you reentered the passcode

    you could try removing the passcode off the router and see if you can connect then

    also post an ipconfig /all
    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  5. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    well theres a few that show that arent mine that have no passcodes and it wont connect to them either, i've tried taking my password off and still a no go for me.... but here's my result..



    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : mobile-69274f4b

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-DE-92-7D-41
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    is the wireless swithed on
    whats the make model of the laptop?

    have a look in device manager

    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the + sign

    post backs whats there

    also any ! X or ?
     
  7. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    It is a Dell E1505

    Nothing that looks bad in the device manager (no X, ?, !'s)

    as far as i can see everything LOOKS like its ok. In network adapters i have a few things disabled that i dont use (to conserve power) but they've been that way for a while and havent caused problems... here's a print screen
     

    Attached Files:

  8. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    Since the card is detecting surrounding wifi, i cant imagine that its bad equipment.. anyone have any ideas?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    as its detecting wireless networks - i cant see its switched off - but who knows - Dell use a F key to switch on off
    do you have a light on the laptop case for wireless on
    do you have a maula to check how to swtich on / off

    also try this

    Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    Have you made sure in Network Connections that your wireless connection is enabled?
     
  11. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    yeah its enabled, and yes there is a light indicating that it is enabled...

    my machine is set to dual boot with vista, and im having the same problem in vista, so it must be the card right?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    Make sure you have the latest driver and utility from the Dell web site for your Intel adapter. If you already have the latest driver uninstall it and download/install a fresh copy just in case the installed driver got corrupted.

    Try to connect using the Intel (or Dell) utility and post another ipconfig /all please.
     
  13. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    i uninstalled the version i had and updated and im still getting the same issues.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,587
    I'm really puzzled; "Media disconnected" often means the connection is disabled; but then you shouldn't be able to detect networks.

    What kind of luck did you have with NetStumbler? If no networks are detected at first, click on the Device menu and see if your Intel adapter is listed more than once. If it is, click on the other listing.
     
  15. JAYNO20

    JAYNO20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    379
    ok netstumbler showed the networks no problem, intel adapter is only showed once... i got it to connect to a nearby linksys router, but thats the only one it will connect to.... it used to connect to the rest of these fine, my home network has WPA2 on it, and if i disable it the computer will now connect to it fine, but at work we have security enabled and it wont work there either... is there a setting on the computer somewhere that messes with WPA2/security on wifi? it doesnt make sense that it would have worked fine before, but now it wont.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/531106