1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

WiFi or no WiFi?

Discussion in 'Archive: Phones & Handheld Devices' started by Denys, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Denys

    Denys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Hi, I have recently purchaesd the Acer betouch e101 from the Windows Phone Website. It says on the Connectivity section of the site that the phone has WiFi but I can't seem to be able to find it or use it...

    Here is the site with the phone specifications: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmob.../windowsmobile/en-gb/devices/smartphones.mspx

    Can somebody please tell me how to get the WiFi on my phone? Do I need a card or something?

    Also, will it be free when connected on WiFi instead of GPRS?

    Thanks,

    Denys
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would imagine it can connect to a wireless router in a hotspot, hotel, cafe, airport, to surf the web, get email etc rather than use the 3G network - should be a setting somewhere - i'll try and find a manual online to find that setting - It would be free if you are connected to a free wifi - but often in hotels and cafes they can charge for access

    EDIT
    OK found it
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/en-gb/help/v6-0/WiFi-Data-Connections-touch.aspx
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/en-gb/help/v6-0/turn-wifi-on-off-touch.aspx
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The description on Microsoft's site says it has wifi capabilities, but the site that actually sells it doesn't. Cell phones are often modified for a carrier and features can be removed. The model you have might not support wifi. Contact either the seller or the provider.
     
  4. Denys

    Denys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    If my phone does have WiFi capabilities - which I hope it has, would I be able to access my BT HomeHub free?

    Thanks for the replies!

    Denys
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes, should be able to access any wireless network - As its a new device it should also support WPA2 wireless encryption.
    But as said in my post#2
    But thats only for Surfing and email - phone calls are via the 3G mobile network
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916653

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice