1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wifi problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ryan345, Nov 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ryan345

    ryan345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    i'm using unifi for around 2 month all was very gd until ytd from i wake up my lappy cant connect to it....i can detect and connect to other network connection(neighbours/starbucks/office) i still can detect my house unifi just the problem is i cant connect to it >.< ... it said window was unable to connect to XXXX@unifi ~ other device like my smartphone and other laptop can detect and connect to the network.. so i can i fix it ?? :confused::eek:


    currently i'm using window 7 home premium~
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,941
    Unifi is your ISP who provide the broadband and you are trying to connect via wifi

    can you connect to the router with a cable and see if that works

    you will need to use your other laptop to copy things to the faulty laptop

    make sure you have the correct password if using a secure wireless - log into the router and remove the wireless security and see if that will work

    also you could try removing the wireless profiles

    lets see the following


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to remove Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/t109-removing-an-existing-wireless-profile
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to remove Wireless Profiles - for Vista and Windows 7
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - Vista/Windows7:
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
    - delete the wireless profiles
    Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

    Delete the profiles
    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to - so make sure you know the correct password , and not using an incorrect password at all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. ryan345

    ryan345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    currently im online through cable... but it is kinda difficult i online with using cable... i hope that i can online by using wifi... and i already delete the wifi profile and i still cant connect through it... im surely my password is not wrong~



    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Chin>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Chin-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : EA-B9-A5-2D-C0-34
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-B9-A5-2E-2B-0B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F4-6D-04-87-B3-AB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cd57:c70f:c16c:3780%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.110(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 12 December, 2011 8:04:20 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 19 December, 2011 8:04:20 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 351563012
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-23-79-E2-E0-B9-A5-2D-C0-34

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9002WB-1NG Wireless Network Ada
    pter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-B9-A5-2D-C0-34
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8B78CBC4-B132-461B-A841-7DCDE611AB2A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{06E7EC17-30DA-49DE-9B89-15A182ABAF84}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1D30434D-116F-4058-B4A4-6A6151F3DF83}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:383f:b1a:5077:c0f8(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::383f:b1a:5077:c0f8%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{71509484-D2DF-4FF3-8F53-352A49D6DC27}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Chin>^A
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,941
    well it could be as simple as that - the adapter is working and can see the wireless signals, as you say

    loginto the router and remove the wireless security and then try and connect - once connected , log back into the router and add the security again - sometimes thats all that is needed to kick it back into life

    make sure when you log into the router you are connected by a cable
     
  5. ryan345

    ryan345 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    your security mean the password right ? between can you teach me how to disable the security of unifi wireless ?

    do u mean 1st disable my wireless security than plug the cable out and plug in again to connect...after connect then go back enable my security again right ? if yes i already done it but i still cant connect through wireless >.<
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,941
    Connect the PC to the router with a cable - then you need to log into the router configuration pages and got to the wireless section and disable the wireless security .
    Disconnect the cable between the router and PC
    now try to connect to the wireless (which has no security now) - if that works
    connect a cable back between the PC and the router
    log into the router configuration pages and got to the wireless section and re-enable the wireless security
    Disconnect the cable between the router and PC
    now try to connect to the wireless

    lets us know if that is what you have already tried

    otherwise it sounds like something is blocking the wireless

    do you have a firewall/security suite like norton, mcafee or anything like that or ever in the past on the PC
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. sharpeye72
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    363
  2. nickhuff
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    874
  3. GoldenShox
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    427
  4. tollycraft
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    297
  5. legendaryspider
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    314
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025800