1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wifi router help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tyler631, Jun 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tyler631

    Tyler631 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Hello everyone,

    I recently updated my router after about 10 years to a netgear nighthawk I am 99.9% sure that i hooked everything up right but when I go to log into my new WiFi i still see my old WiFi pop up and it still works. Is it normal to still see your old WiFi and have it still work after upgrading your WiFi router?

    Thank you!
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,581
    First Name:
    David
    Are you sure that you are connecting YOUR router?
    I have seen many a person connecting to there neighbor that has no password and the same name.
     
  3. Tyler631

    Tyler631 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    I am 100% sure that I am logging in to my router our neighbors both have WiFi passwords that I di not know. I just found it strange that I update my router and still see my old router wifi and just wasn’t sure if that is supposed to happen
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,581
    First Name:
    David
    The new router would NOT contain the old WiFi, it is a setting that you must make within the router.
    I would go into the Router and change the Network name and password, that is different than the one you have been using. then reboot that machine. If that works, now you need to update ALL other devices that uses this network.
     
  5. Tyler631

    Tyler631 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Its not that my new router contains my old wifi its that i can see my new wifi when I connect my devices to it and i can see my old wifi and also connect to it. Should i still be able to connect to my old wifi even if i have a new router
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,581
    First Name:
    David
    If you have unplugged and power down the old router, then it is not functioning and can not connect to it.
    This tells me that you have NOT been connecting to YOUR router but some one other router.

    What is the Name of these WiFi hotspots that you can see?
     
  7. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    15,791
    First Name:
    Liz
    That's impossible.
    That's like someone saying I have unplugged my toaster but I can still toast bread on it even though it is not plugged in.
     
  8. Tyler631

    Tyler631 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Exactly it doesn’t make any sense and I’m really bad at technology so does this mean that I didn’t hook up my router right ?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is your old router unplugged (powered off)?
     
  10. Tyler631

    Tyler631 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Turned off and unplugged
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,978
    First Name:
    Terry
    Then there are no Wi-Fi or other signals emanating from it.

    Is it possible that your "modem" is actually a modem/wireless router combo and your "old WiFi" is from it?
     
  12. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    767
    First Name:
    Morten
    As @plodr said. There's no way you can connect to a SSID of a router that's been disconnected.
    If I was you I'd double check the SSID's for both the 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz band on the new router. It may be possible that one is set as the old one was. (Yet, that's still highly unlikely)
    As others stated. It's much more likely that that particular ID is from another device,
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1211375

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice