1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wifi signal but no Internet connection help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jordon63, Aug 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jordon63

    Jordon63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi I am new to this forum looks great my problem is I all of a sudden lost my Internet connection good wifi signal all lights on my Motorola 5100 on as should be and all lights on my netgear n150 router which is a new one as I thought it was this so any help would be apprieciated computer I am using as windows profesinal installed.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    has this ever worked ? Any other device connected to the router by wireless and working
    Are you using wireless security on the router - if so would you remove the wireless security from the router as a test and see if you can connect

    can you connect to the modem by a cable and post an ipconfig /all - see below
    also do a full power cycle - see below and connect the modem to the router and then a cable frommthe router to the PC and post another ipconfig /all - make sure we know which is which
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Jordon63

    Jordon63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    hi thanks for getting back to me yes it used to work fine moden works ok when i just connect cable to computer and as for security yes i have security but have tried with and with out still the same hope this helps thanks again


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all.network.txt&network.txt

    Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

    USAGE:
    ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
    /flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
    /showclassid adapter |
    /setclassid adapter [classid] ]

    where
    adapter Connection name
    (wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

    Options:
    /? Display this help message
    /all Display full configuration information.
    /release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
    /flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
    /registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
    /displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
    /showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
    /setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

    The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
    default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

    For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP address
    leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

    For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

    Examples:
    > ipconfig ... Show information.
    > ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
    > ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
    > ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
    name starting with EL
    > ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
    eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
    "Local Area Connection 2"
    'network.txt' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  4. Jordon63

    Jordon63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all fixed so thanks for your time I turned of security and did the power cycle as you said and everythings fine after week of trying I then turned security back on and is still fine so thanks again.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    you need to remove some dots and add spaces to the command

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    it needs to be exactly as posted above

    you used
    ipconfig /all.network.txt&network.txt
    so not the . between the all and network - should be a space
    and space each side of the &
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    opss cross posts

    (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065015